Windows XP upgrade? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2004, 03:04 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6
Default Windows XP upgrade?

I'm going to be building a new computer in the next few weeks and i have a question about XP. I would prefer an upgrade copy, because it is quite a bit cheaper. My current computer is an HP with windows ME. Would i be able to use the recovery disk with ME on it, to make the copy of XP upgrade work?
__________________

DrGonzo is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 03:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 620
Default

You can upgrade to XP, but I wouldn't recommend it. You can buy an OEM version of XP home for a pretty good price. You just have to purchase it with a piece of "computer hardware".

Here is an example at newegg.com for $91
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewProduc...102-141&depa=6

To satisfy the OEM hardware requirement, newegg gives you a free computer cable (listed at the bottom of the page as "customer appreciation gift").
__________________

__________________

CPU - P4 2.4C, 800FSB W/HT - CONSERVATIVELY OC\'ED
MOBO - GIGABYTE GA-8KNXP 2.0 875P CHIPSET/DUAL BIOS VER. FE
RAM - 1GB (2X512) OCZ PC3200 REV 2, 400MHZ 2-3-3 6
VID CARD - ASUS RADEON 9600XT 128MB W/VIVO
FLOPPY - SAMSUNG 1.44M
HDD - MAXTOR 120GB 7200RPM ATA133 EIDE W/8MB BUFFER
DVD - LG GDR8162B 16X IDE DVD ROM
PSU - ENERMAX EG465P-VE FC 460 WATT
VANTEC VP4-C7040 AEROFLOW HS/FAN
5 X VANTEC STEALTH 80MM CASE FANS
Bleep is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 33
Default

XP does not goes good on ME
-Do not update it On ME
-Use the OEM CD for the XP with SP1
-Xp is the best Os if installed clean
startec is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 08:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 204
Default

I beleive HP offers upgrade cds ffor windows ME for mere 10$. Try it. The phone no. is 800-474-6836. . U may just find me answering ur phone.
__________________
One disk to rule them all,
One disk to bind them,
One disk to hold the files
And in the darkness grind \'em.
maverick_teck is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 02:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Don't Upgrade!! Clean Install!!!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 02:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 106
Default

Im with Kboy on this one, do a clean install less headaches,& will perform much better.I have seen many people try upgrade,then they call me to fix it.
__________________

ByTeDeMoN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.