Windows XP upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-22-2004, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default Windows XP upgrade

Do you know if I will loose any information if I upgrade from XP home to XP pro?
__________________

TheClyde is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Default

You should not lose anything when upgrading from XP Home to XP Pro. The only thing that might happen is some settings might be changed (i.e. java being enabled on your web browser) or something like that. One problem I have found when upgrading from XP Home to XP Pro is that sometimes your drivers to certain hardware do not respong properly to the upgrade. I recently tried to upgrade to XP Pro and the touchpad mouse on my laptop stopped working. There was an updated driver online but its just something to think about.
__________________

PyRaX is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 09:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Ok. I just need to upgrade it so I can get some documents off of my locked up "C" Drive. Then I was going to use the disks I got with it to reformat it to its origionaly settings.
TheClyde is offline  
Old 07-22-2004, 10:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

I didnt lose anything when i did that from me to pro, although it did hide some things.
__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 02:30 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 64
Default

Just curious: what do you mean your "locked up C drive"? There might be other, less tedious options than upgrading, which, depending on the situation, might not even work.

Cheers
DiggerB
diggerB is offline  
Old 07-23-2004, 04:44 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

I' not sure whether will lose data or not, just that whenyo upgrade from Win XP home to Pro, the file system is still FAT32, doesnt like Clean install of WinXp Pro that running NTFS.
__________________

__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.