Windows XP transferable? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2004, 04:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default Windows XP transferable?

Question.....

I have XP on this computer and I am looking at getting a laptop with a format drive, no OS or anything

So, since I still have the install disks for XP can I install XP on the notebook with the same install disks used for my desktop? Do I just have to get it confirmed with Windows when I install it so it doess't go bye-bye in 3 days?
__________________

__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 05:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: /usr/root/mn/us
Posts: 1,118
Default

I've never tried myself, but I think you can get one copy of Windows registered to 2 machines if they're both owned by the same person.

You will have to register the other computer to be completely legal, but I haven't had an issue with them checking.

Are you using XP home or XP Pro?
__________________

__________________

Its a frigging Laptop, not a Labtop!!!!
bla!! is offline  
Old 06-30-2004, 06:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

XP Home
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 01:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3
Default

I have done it with XP Pro...however, I had to make a call to M$ to get it activated. They gave me a key code that I had to enter onto my laptop.
98ramair is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 04:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

OK, thanks guys
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 07-01-2004, 10:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

You can also use a program called TweakNT to remove the 30-day timebomb on an unactivated copy of Windows XP.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.