Windows XP taskbar - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-25-2006, 10:54 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default Windows XP taskbar

Hello

What does lock the taskbar do on windows XP?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 11:11 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

That is for the Quicklaunch. Basiclly with it locked you cant modify or move the Quicklaunch. But without it locked you can. So that way if you have more or less icons you can move it around. But you have to have the Quicklaunch active.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 12:55 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the reply

how do i make the quicklaunch active?

icons mean applications correct?
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 02:54 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by rookie1010
thanks for the reply

how do i make the quicklaunch active?

icons mean applications correct?

To make the quicklaunch active, right-click on the taskbar, click toolbars -> Click Quicklaunch.

Icons are shortcuts to applications.


Yeesh, almost 2000 posts, you should know this stuff
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-25-2006, 08:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Icons are not necessarily shortcuts to applications. Some are jsut that...icons. While most of them do represent either a shortcut to the application executable or the executable some are just plain icons. Like the Recycle Bin or the My Computer Icon. Each serve a purpose but both are not executables. They just bring up another menu. They dont actually run a application. But they do serve a purpose.

Most of the time they have the little arrow in the lower left corner. That signifies the Shortcut.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

thanks for the replies talldude123, makaveli

i am not a CS major (dont think that is much of an excuse), that is why i have got close to 2000 posts and am still a noob


i like quicklaunch

hey how are the programs and shortcuts listed in quicklaunch.
is there anyway i can change (add/remove change position) the programs/shortcuts
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

just drag what you want in the quick launch bar, onto it. And if you want to delete something out of it, just right click on the icon and go to delete.
__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 02:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

kool thanks
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.