windows xp system logo - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2003, 01:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default windows xp system logo

I was wondering, I seen my friends computer, it was a MDG.

Anyways, i went into control panel > systems >general

in general it shows the computer specs, processor, speed, memory ect..

But aswel, underneith the picture of the monitor, there was a MDG logo, i was curious how they did that.

Anyone have a clue where i can find out how to do somethin like that?
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 01:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

that small pic is a 256 color bitmap and its named 'oemlogo.bmp'. if your on xp, the files in your \windowsdirectory\system32\ if you on 98/me (lol) its in \windir\system\

open it and change it, if you have no pic just make a 176x120 256 color bmp.

the support text you see is in oeminfo.ini
__________________

__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 03:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

i dont see any of it =(

dont even see the support text
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 04:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

I use a program called OEMLogo for my client's PCs. There are several different small programs that do this for you (short of creating your logo). Do a google search and you should have no problem finding one. You just have to create a logo and call it oemlogo.bmp. The program that I use actually resizes the logo to best fit. Then it has a GUI to allow you to enter in the Support info.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 06:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

ok i just want to make sure this is clear what im talking about, check out the attatched picture.

jus wanna make sure bfeore i start downloading somethin

logo suppose to be in the circle labled "Logo Here!"
Attached Images
File Type: jpg desk2.jpg (11.1 KB, 23 views)
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 07:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Yes, that's it. The app. that I have also edits the section to the right of the logo and places a "Support Information" button over there. When you click it you have about 10 extra lines to input your contact info.

-Michael
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 12-04-2003, 08:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

but the program, does it make a file i just insert into the windows directory?
because i work as a pc technician and i want it so whatever customer buys a new copy of win xp, i just like insert 2 files, and it would appear.
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 12:34 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549
Default

yes spfd we are all talking about the same thing. you dont need to bother w/another silly lamo application, its easy and u can do it yourself manually.

just create or crop a small pic and save it in your windows\system32 dir as oemlogo.bmp like i said. now its suppose to be 176x120pix if yours is larger the pic will just be displayed in the center w/the edges cropped.
__________________
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-questions.html\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"http://action.eff.org/action/index.asp?step=2&item=2906\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>


chrönik04 is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 12:55 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

IT DOESNT DISPLAY =(
__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 01:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

lol. go and find the app.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.