Windows XP system errors - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2004, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77
Default Windows XP system errors

I am working on a fellow employee's desktop, it's a Dell 4600 running Win XP, first let me start by saying that this machine seems to load up fine, but once your in the madness starts, if you enter the control panel about half of the icons are missing and anything you click on will take some time to open up, the Ctrl + Alt + Del does nothing and if I try to run ANY application I get the following error "The application has failed to start reinstalling this application may fix the problem" if I try to start in safe mode I get the following error "Stop: c0000135 unable to locate component this application has failed to start because WINSRV was not found. Reinstalling this application may fix the problem, I was planning on running some spyware programs but I can't even get those installed. Any suggestions? Thanks.
__________________

scj6771 is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 01:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/885523
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 02:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 142
Default

Try reinstalling XP, or follow The Major's link, that seems to be a good solution. The solution being uninstall SP2 from what I can see. Good Luck.
__________________
There are two things which are infinite, the universe, and human stupidity...Although, I\'m not sure about the universe.
KnowNothing is offline  
Old 12-10-2004, 11:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 589
Send a message via AIM to GeckoEcho421 Send a message via Yahoo to GeckoEcho421
Default

Just format that *****.
__________________
If you ever have any questions feel free to email me at dhughes3@gmail.com, I will send you back an email as soon as possible.
<table width=\"100%\" border=\"3\" align=\"default\" cellpadding=\"3\" cellspacing=\"2\" bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"left\"></div><div align=\"left\"><font size=\"2\"><strong><font color=\"brown\" size=\"2\"><marquee behavior=\"alternate\" width=100%><b><font color=#43525F size=\"2\">Goo g l e ||G o o gl e ||G o o gl e</font></b></marquee></font></strong></font></div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><font size=\"1\"><b><font color=#43525F>Mobo: </font></b><font size=\"1\">MSI \"K8N Neo2 Platinum\" <b><font color=#43525F>Chipset: </font></b>nForce3 ULTRA <b><font color=#43525F>CPU: </font></b>AMD Athlon 64 3500+ (Socket 939) <b><font color=#43525F>Physical memory:</font></b> Corsair XMS 1GB(512MBx2) 2-2-2-5 <b><font color=#43525F>Videocard:</font></b> eVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6800 GT<b><font color=#43525F> Soundcard:</font></b> Creative Audigy 2 </font></font><font color=#43525F size=\"1\"><b>Currently running: </font></b><font size=\"1\">XP Pro SP2 </td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\">How much PSU power is enough? </div></td></tr><tr><td bordercolor=\"#485F8D\"><div align=\"center\"><a href=\"http://whatpulse.org/stats/users/142979/\"><img src=\"http://whatpulse.afraid.org/sig/GeckoEcho421.png\" border=\"0\"></a></div></td></tr></table>
GeckoEcho421 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 12:13 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default

Sounds like someone has been deleting stuff the wrong way and screwed it up.
sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 05:38 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77
Default

Ok I have learned more about the recovery option in Windows XP than I care to, but I still have one major roadblock, when it prompts me for an administrator password I have no idea and neither does the owner of the machine, I have tried to just hit enter and still nothing, I have tried changing the password by getting into the system using a great program called ERD Boot Disk Commander, this program has always worked for me in the past when I needed to change the local admin password, yet when I change it and reboot to the XP cd-rom and go into the recovery option still I get the "invalid password" thrown back at me, I have read the followin articles http://support.microsoft.com/kb/885523 and http://support.microsoft.com/kb/308402/EN-US/ and http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307654 and http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;305478 which no doubt have helped me but still I need to figure out this password issue or find another option, as it stands now the machine comes up with the blue screen of death telling me that "winsrv" could not be found. HELP!!!!!. Thanks.
scj6771 is offline  
Old 12-12-2004, 10:47 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77
Default

Here is an update, I somehow got the desktop to load but not without taking around 10 minutes to get to the desktop, and then still everything is real slow, I ran Adware and CWShredder along with Spybot, removed some junk but still this is getting real painfull to actually try and get anything done, I removed Service Pack 2. Any suggestions on what is taking this thing so long to load and what might be causing it to lag severely??????
scj6771 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 01:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 77
Default

Ok I told him that his machine was all jacked up and I needed to formt and re-install XP, I would have gone that route to begin with but I am always a bit cautious when it comes to a "customers" machine, you know how these "store bought" machines come loaded down with everything under the sun and not one bit of it will ever get used, seems like I spend more time trying to explain why I need to format and re-install than doing the actuall work. Anyway, thanks for all your responses. Any good XP install tips or tricks? Thanks again.
scj6771 is offline  
Old 12-13-2004, 01:32 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 1,343
Send a message via AIM to southernlady Send a message via Yahoo to southernlady
Default

Yes, have your a/v and firewall on a cd so you can install it without going online. Also, go in and have SP1a on a cd so you can install it without going online. To do that, go in and print out a list of all critcal updates installed. Then install Firefox.

Then go here ON Firefox under tools and tell it to download to where you want it to and pick a folder cause you are going to burn all these to a cd.

Next, go to http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/s...displaylang=en and search for all your downloads by number and download them USING Firefox (can't use IE for this), and save them to your hard drive in that folder you created. Then burn them to a cd.

This will save you time and avoid going online til you are protected after you fisinsh installing all your updates/anti-virus, and firewall.. Liz
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\"><a href=\"http://www.prioritycomputers.net/\" target=\"_blank\">Priority Computers</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download506.html\" target=\"_blank\">AdAware SE</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2471.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpyBot-Search & Destroy</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download2859.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareBlaster</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3045.html\" target=\"_blank\">SpywareGuard</a> | <a href=\"http://www.majorgeeks.com/download3155.html\" target=\"_blank\">HijackThis</a> | <font color=\"red\"> <a href=\"http://www.stealingisillegal.com/\" target=\"_blank\">Stealing is illegal</font></a> <form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\"><br />
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search Tech-Forums!\"></form><font size=\"1\"><i>Powered by Emily!</i></font><br />
<br />
southernlady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.