Windows XP Startup Problem - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2005, 01:18 PM   #61 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

This one is specific for the 4550...
http://support.dell.com/support/down...1&fileid=56489
As is this one but it is newer so try it...
http://support.dell.com/support/down...1&fileid=56489
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:24 PM   #62 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

I already did that one, I have taht installed on both computers.

Here is the Readme..

Quote:
To reinstall the NIC driver for Windows XP, perform the following steps:

1. Click Start, Right-click the My Computer icon, click Properties.

2. Click the Hardware tab, click the Device Manager button.

3. Click the + next to Network Adapters. Right click on the appropriate network adapter, click Properties.

4. Click on the Driver tab, click the Update Driver button.

5. Select Install from a list of specified location (Advanced), click Next.

6. Click Don’t Search, I will choose the driver to install, click Next

7. Click the Have Disk button.

8. Verify that A: is entered in the Copy manufacturer’s files from box or use the Browse button to point to the directory the driver was extracted to. (i.e. c:\dell\drivers\….)

9. Click OK to install the driver.

10. Verify that Intel® PRO/100 M Network Connection or Intel® PRO/100 VE Network Connection is highlighted.

11. Click Next, click Finish.
I did that, THough then I got to step 7 I didnt click the "Have Disk" button, I just continued wth the installation BECAUSE When I went to browse, It couldnt find somehing - I'll let you know what it says exact... But I browsed to my C:\Dell\Drivers\ into the folder but it wouldnt let me browse whole folders..

Let me try installing it again....
__________________

gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:26 PM   #63 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

Oh **** dude,

I get Internet! Wo0to0to0o0o

Thank you SOO much for the help, Much love - And thanks Warez for your help with my previous problems. THANKS ALL!!!

If I have any more questions I will post back!


-gfX
[Happy]
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:28 PM   #64 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Congrats. Just make sure to do all you updating.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:47 PM   #65 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

Dang it..



That's what I get when I try and open up Counter-Strike 1.6
Hmmmmmm
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 01:56 PM   #66 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Did you do all updates? If so then check with nVidia website for you video card and see if they have any drivers that you can use.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:03 PM   #67 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

Im on the site but I don't know which one I have. They have some to Download, I tryed one but I needed something else before I could download like a previous card.
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:08 PM   #68 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Identify the Video Card by Looking in Device Manager

1.Click the Start button.
2.Click Control Panel.
The Pick a Category window appears.
3.Click to select Performance and Maintenance.
4.Click the icon named System.
The System Properties window appears.
5.Click the Hardware tab.
6.Click the Device Manager button.
The Device Manager window appears.
7.Click the Plus (+) symbol next to Display Adapters. The video card type is listed.
Only thing is it doesnt say if it is 64mb or 128mb. Do you know that info off hand?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:12 PM   #69 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

No I dont.

I have.....

NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 420 (Microsoft Corporation)
Now I gotta find what to update to on the site
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 02:15 PM   #70 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Do you have an old Invoice from Dell that would tell you.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.