Windows XP Startup Problem - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-16-2005, 08:09 AM   #31 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay i see that you said when Windows was installing you had a bunch of errors. Now did you install some new hardware recently? How old is this computer? If you installed some new harware and this started to happen it sounds like what happened to me. I had so much stuff running and not enough juice from my power supply. So if thats the case you can get a new power supply and that might fix the problem like it did for me. Now if the computer is old and you havent done anything new with it then i would have to say your hard drive is trying to tell you goodbye cause it is about to kick the bucket.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 08:12 AM   #32 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

That's not good, I haven't installed any new hard drives.

Hmm, I don't know what to do this is scaring me. First, I want to know why it said Loading Windows 98, something like that when I restarted my computer.. It was on the black screen with that prompt writing.

Then, I just want to get past this testing stuff and go on my computer.
__________________

gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 08:30 AM   #33 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

From the sound of things it isnt good. For the most part when getting errors loading windows means trouble (unless its pirated, but we wont go there). From what i have read, nothing new installed, just got problem, tried to reinstall, error messages on install, and now testing of system cant get to desktop. All i can say is try to reinstall again (i know it stinks) if you get some error messages again then your hard drive has gone bad and you need a new one. Best of Luck to you, Thats really all i can think of.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 08:37 AM   #34 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

Thank you I guess I will try that again.
No it isnt pirated also.

But Thanks for all the help and I'll reinstall windows again
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 08:40 AM   #35 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

EDIT: Ah, It actually worked.. I just had to take the Drivers and Utilities disk out. Now im back at my desktop. Let's see if I can get an internet connection now :-\

Nope, Internet isnt working.
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 10:29 AM   #36 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

So right now my only problem is getting an Internet Connection. There is a computer upstairs in the Attic which has the router and runs all of the computers. That computer is a very very old one, and basically I can't even move the mouse so I can't get to my Network Connections and such to add my computer so I can get connected. ( I'm still on my dad's laptop )

The router is a Dell Truemobile 2300. A neighboor of ours who is real good with computers gave us that router and he drilled holes in our walls and put wiring in there for each room so we can get an internet connection. So therefor I don't know if I can move the router from upstairs to in my room ( The computer that I reformatted ) so I can host all computers from my room. I hope there is a way of doing that without messing any of the connections up, I don't want to fool around with anything.

But still, I need an Internet Connection first, and I don't know what to do. I can't do anything with the upstairs computer that controls the router - So I can't add this connection.

Get back to me,
Thanks ALOT

-gfX
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 10:54 AM   #37 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Can you see any of the other computers on your home network. If not you need to run the Network Wizard within windows. Do you have the disk for the Router that might help set it up? Also if its wireless you need to go into your properties for you wireless card in the network connections and make sure that those setting match the one of your wireless router. Try that see if it helps any.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 10:58 AM   #38 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

All the other laptops and such connections are working fine. Yes, I'm running the Router disc right now.

And No,The router I believe is not wireless.

Also I tried listening to music with Windows Media Player but It couldnt find my Audio Drivers and such - I'm missing all thse

Aahh
gfX is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 11:09 AM   #39 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Okay. Start from the top. Do you have any disks fo rhte computer....motherboard, modem, anything at all these will have the driver you need. 2nd, bring up the START menu, right click on the My Computer icon and go to properties. From there go to Devices and click on Device Manager. Any with a little triangle and ! in it are in conflict which means it has no drivers to run them. I am guessing that you sound card and Ethernet adapter are 2 of them. If you are using all onboard (off you motherboard not installed by you) then your Motherboard Disk would have the drivers you need to get all hooked up. See if that helps.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-16-2005, 11:09 AM   #40 (permalink)
gfX
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 52
Send a message via AIM to gfX
Default

Ok I ran the Router Disc and it says..

"Internet Connectivity Failuer

Setup Wizard was nable to detect the Internet connection. If you have already connected the router to the computer, please disconnect the router. Verify that your cable/DSL modem is directly connected to the computer via Ethernet cable.

Click OK for more information on checking your internet connection"

And I hit OK and it still cant find it.
__________________

gfX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.