windows xp splash screen - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2005, 01:45 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default windows xp splash screen

Greetings all

I've been lurking for a while now and I have gathered a lot of usefull tips and tricks not to mention all the problems everyone here has helped me fix, I'd like to say thanks for everything....Thanks smile.gif

Now comes the time I need help with something I can't get any info on.

I recently installed a clean copy of xp on my moms computer (pentium 4) and it was working great (awesome) for about a month untill last week when it started to hang up on the xp splash screen, it hangs up for about 5 min.....very irritating!

I read you can disable the splash screen but I have a feeling it won't solve the prob. I'm guessing something is very wrong.

Once it finally boots up everything is completely fine????

I gone through the startup items (msconfig) and that's good.

Anti virus= up to date
spyware= up to date
adaware= up tp date

I intalled bootvis and still nothing.......still getting the 5 min xp splash screen???

Is there anyone here that could help me with this prob??

Thanks in advance
Bobby Ray
__________________

bobbyray is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 03:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 23
Default

I assume you are talking about the Windows XP startup logo. Long delays can happen here for many reasons. This typically happens if you have a conflict that Windows is having a problem resolving, or an event or service is timing out upon boot.

First, you may want to check your error logs for any errors that may be occuring that you unaware about.
1. Right Click on my computer
2. Click on Manage
3. Expand the Performance Logs and Alerts section
4. Review alerts in any of these categories that are indicated with a red x.

Second
Reboot your computer in Safe Mode and see if there is still a 5 minute delay in safe mode.
If this seems to resolve the problem, it may be possible that this is a driver problem.
1. Roboot your computer
2. Press F8 after your bios post completes and before your Widows logo screen starts
3. Choose Start in Safe Mode

That should get you started in the right direction.
__________________

anmont is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 08:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

defrag your drive
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 06:18 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

Thanks for the help but I'm still getting the 5 minute splash screen. I ran the xp repair also and still having problems.

I'm considering reinstalling but I don't want to. Does anyone have any other clues as to what it can be??

Thanks
bobbyray is offline  
Old 07-28-2005, 07:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

To remove the XP boot screen, in msconfig, click the 'BOOT.INI' tab at the top. In there check the 'NOGUIBOOT' box, then click 'OK'. You're done. I don't think it will solve your problem, but it's worth a try, hey?!

TMT.
TMT is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 11:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

You can always to a repair install of Windows, that usually works when all else fails. It wont erase any of your files, just do an over the top installation of Windows.
Him is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 12:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
TMT
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 241
Default

He said he already did that. Have you had any luck yet, bobbyray?

TMT.
TMT is offline  
Old 07-29-2005, 02:32 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

I yes, he did say that didnt he? I just skimmed for him saying a repair install, and he didnt say it, so I suggessted it. I should stop just skimming over posts like that.

If it did that from a clean install, I would say you have a hardware issue. Do you have any REEEEALLLLY old hardware in there? Might be a problem in your bios, try reseting that.
Him is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 01:18 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 19
Default

I trouble shooted all I could with no results so I went with another clean intall........everythings back to normal.

Thanks to all who helped

Bobbyray
__________________

bobbyray is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.