Windows xp sp2 not detecting full drive size 200Gb - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2005, 10:35 PM   #11 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
Heres the link http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;303013

Make sure you have a 48-bit LBA-compatible BIOS too.
he now has support for the drive, he didn't have at first before he installed sp2. he will now have a unformatted 70 gig partition.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 10:46 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 135
Default Re: Windows xp sp2 not detecting full drive size 200Gb

Quote:
Originally posted by BAKGAT
My windows xp sp2 only shows my c drive as 127Gb and not 200Gb. Is there a quick fix or should I Fdisk. I louded sp2 as an update. Please help
he has a 200gb hd but only shows 127gb... obviously somethins wrong... read wat he says
__________________

__________________
Pentium 4 630 (3.0ghz)
1 gb PNY DDR2700
ATI 9600XT 128 mb
Hitachi 160 gb
ABIT AS8 Socket T (LGA 775)
bronxblaza117 is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 12:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Re: Windows xp sp2 not detecting full drive size 200Gb

Quote:
Originally posted by bronxblaza117
he has a 200gb hd but only shows 127gb... obviously somethins wrong... read wat he says
Let me explain this Sloooowwy......

if he install xp home version 2600 (the one with noooo seeerrvice packssss, that doesn't recognize 48-bit LBA ) on a 200 gig hard drive without partitioning it to at least 2 drives.

that's exactly what is going to haaappppppeen.

and upgrading to service pack 2 will not change the size of the 127 gig OS drive (it will let the computer recognize the rest of the unpartitioned drive that is attached to it though)
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 02:54 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

I have an asus a8v deluxe with a 939 amd 64 3000+ running 2x 512 ddr. After updating to sp2 it showed 63gb unpartitioned. I created a primary partition (E and formated. Is there no way to run one full 200gb drive? I am a biginer and this is the first system I'm building.
BAKGAT is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 06:30 AM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

buy partition magic it can merge it right now.

or you can slipstream SP2 into your windows xp cd and start over

or you could partition your drive into 3 partitions with your original xp cd or your slipstream xp cd. I would personally go through this route. I would my my window drive 20 gb than make me 2 95 gb partitions. I would make the first my documents and the other either my movies or my music. this way if you have to reformat again later, you won't lose your data or music
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-01-2005, 07:42 AM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks EricB that makes alot of sence, wil give it a try. Where can I get benchmarking for a similar sytem? Like I said socket 939 asus a8v deluxe running 2x 512 ddr duel channel and a geforce 5500 256 agp card Maxi gamers case with 1x 120mm front fan and 2x 80mm exhuast fans. I loaded nfs2 as a trail, the game play is smooth but the sound is a bit fast, it sounds like chipmunks talking.
BAKGAT is offline  
Old 09-02-2005, 09:40 AM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

He should have been able to pop into his BIOS and seen what the hardware was talking, aside from what Windows was seeing.
__________________

__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.