Windows xp sp2 not detecting full drive size 200Gb - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-31-2005, 03:02 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default Windows xp sp2 not detecting full drive size 200Gb

My windows xp sp2 only shows my c drive as 127Gb and not 200Gb. Is there a quick fix or should I Fdisk. I louded sp2 as an update. Please help
__________________

BAKGAT is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

You should be showing abut 186gb. You wont see the full 200gb. You should take off roughly 7%. I have a 160gb hdd and I only see 148gb.
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 10:10 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the reply. I got a link on the Maxtor site. It seems that xp does not support large drives.
Check out the following link https://maxtor.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/...1VWnOh&p_lva=#
BAKGAT is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 10:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

The original XP didn't support it, but service pack 1 fixed that problem. Are you sure you have SP2 installed?

After you did the update did you go to disk management and see if the rest of your drive was there and just needed to be partitioned and formatted?

How does it show up in your BIOS?
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 02:23 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 330
Send a message via AIM to dumdum8684
Default

The reason that a 200GB HD is only 186GB is because of the way that the makers label their drives. a 200 GB HD is actually 200,000,000,000 bytes as everyone should know that 1000 bytes is not a kilobyte. 1024 bytes is. do some simple math and you will find the difference.
__________________

My Computer:
-UV Reactive Acrylic Mid-Size Case
-Thermaltake 420W
-AMD Athlon XP \"Barton\" 3200+ 400MHz
-Cooler Master Aero7+
-Asus A7N8X-E Deluxe Mobo
-nVidia GeForce FX 5700 128MB
-2x Kingston HyperX 512MB PC3200
-2x 200GB WD 7200 8MB SATA
-2x 12\" UV Cold Cathodes
-5x 80MM 4UV LED Blue UV-Reactive Fans


My Laptop:
P3 750MHz, 512MB, CD-RW/DVD Combo, 15.1\" TFT, 20GB HD, 32MB integrated video
dumdum8684 is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:44 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BAKGAT
I got a link on the Maxtor site. It seems that xp does not support large drives.
That's crap, dude.

1. Swap over to NTFS
2. Upgrade yer version of XP to SP2 to ensure the latest patches and fixes.
3. Make sure you have the right drivers for your mobo.
4. Have a look at your BIOS and see what the BIOS is reporting as the drive size.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,134
Default

i thought just updating to sp2 didnt work. i thought you had to slipstream sp2 into an xp insallation disc, and then reformat with it?
joshd is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 04:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 813
Default

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...=SLIPSTREAMING
__________________
Associates Degree in IS

A+ Certified

Studying for Network+
BASSMASTER is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 09:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by joshd
i thought just updating to sp2 didnt work. i thought you had to slipstream sp2 into an xp insallation disc, and then reformat with it?
you hit it dead on. if he would have went that route, he would have been fine. he obviously installed xp home 2600 (with no service packs) on his computer, then he update his version to sp2 on the now formatted 127 (137) drive which will not automatically convert his formatted drive to 200 gig
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 08-31-2005, 10:31 PM   #10 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Heres the link http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;303013

Make sure you have a 48-bit LBA-compatible BIOS too.
__________________

Law is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.