Windows XP Sp2 no WPA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-01-2006, 05:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default Windows XP Sp2 no WPA

I have a PC that has Windows SP2 installed and have set up a wireless network. On the two other laptops i have i can select WPA. On this one laptop (te2100) it dont have the option to choose WPA only WEP. I have updated the drivers for the wireless card on the toshiba laptop and still no luck. I checked gpedit to see if it had any policies (as its a school laptop) and i didnt find any. The other laptop is also a school laptop and I had no issue. is their any other things I can try?

Also when I see the network in 'Wireless Network connection' and try to join the network I get a message saying no network was found or it is out of range', but it can see it with full signal strengh!

Thanks Guy's
__________________

dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:05 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

repair install of microsoft windows XP
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

The issue is its school laptop and has been configured with school settings etc - I dont know if the tech at the school will do that
__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-01-2006, 06:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

maybe the wireless adaptor in that laptop doesnt support WPA only WEP. if you turn security off does it connect to the network?

Also are you using windows to set up your wireless connection or the wireless adaptor software?
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 01:54 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Im using the the Windows connection. I thought that there might be an issue with the card not supporting WPA, and no I havent checked connecting to the wireless without security. the laptop is about 4 years old so my guess is its old technology.
dexta182 is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:29 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

ok take off the security and make sure to make the SSID visable see if it connects if it does then It`ll be because it doesnt support WPA so will have to use WEP. If it still doesnt connect without security then make sure to update the drivers.
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 03-02-2006, 04:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 158
Default

Thanks I will give it a try
__________________

__________________
I\'m not your Google Butler!
dexta182 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.