Windows XP SP2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-25-2004, 12:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default Windows XP SP2

Yes, I know that there have been many threads about this in the past few weeks, but i wanted a "fresh thread."

anyways, automatic downloads just downloaded xp sp2 for me and its waiting for me to click install . . .

have all the bugs and stuff been fixed?
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 77
Send a message via AIM to Copper
Default

No idea !!

But it has put my previously 7 days left to activate back up to 30 days left to activate !! Gives me another 3 weeks to find a solution.

Cheers Bill
__________________

__________________
Windows XP Professional Version 2002 Service Pack 2
Asrock K7S41GX Motherboard AGP 8X, FSB 400, DDR 400
Intergrated Audio
ATI Radeon 9200SE 128MB
512 DDR RAM DDR333
AMD XP2500 CPU 333 Mhz ( BARTON )
80gb Western Digital SD WD800JB-00JJA0 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
80gb Maxtor 6Y080L0 Plus 9 - 7200rpm Hard Drive
Copper is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
ID.10T
 
ohGrFreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Midwest in tha houzze
Posts: 1,657
Send a message via AIM to ohGrFreak Send a message via Yahoo to ohGrFreak
Default

I find it really hard to download and install programs and videos from the internet with all the "safety" crap SP2 gives you automatically cancelling most downloads. Even after I finally get the items downloaded, then it won't install like it should. I didn't even use the firewall and antivirus, being that I use McAfee suite as my primary protection. Other than that, no bugs I have seen.
__________________
ohGrFreak is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 10:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

if ur pc is working fine now, i would wait, its firewall and all is real annoying, and too much safety crap. They treat us like we dont know **** bout pcs. None of this crap on linux, u gota do it urself, but its more stable anyways, hehe.

But back to the point, i would wait.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 12:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 274
Send a message via ICQ to smartech
Default

Hi. I've installed a fresh Win XP Pro on my comp yesterday, including everything, but SP2. Before I reinstalled windows I tested XP's SP2 on my computer. It have a lots of new security things, like pop up blocker, etc. But I didn't find any problems with it. The firewall, that everybody fear of, is can be disabled, the same thing about pop up blocker, I also had no promlems while installing applications.
So I just do not install this yet, because I also fear from different bugs that I maby didn't recognize before.

So, I will wait some days.

Anybody who have opinions and experience with SP2. You are welcome to post your ideas :-)

Thanks
-AndreiD
__________________
smartech is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 01:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

i heard that if you use p2p, SP2 can be problematic, it limits max allwed connections on your machine, im not sure if this was fixed, but if not you have to crack the tcpip.sys file to make it work correctly, if you leave it, p2p will lose about 80% preformence.
Zammer is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 01:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

i dont think thats true.
__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 04:24 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 20
Default

then that means it was only a probelem in the beta, the official wount have that kind of problem.
Zammer is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:24 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 558
Default

Well, here's a new problem that just popped up.

It talks about being able to spoof the Windows Security Center that Microsoft just installed. Not a big problem, unless people rely entirely on that to tell them that their firewall is on, and anti-virus working.

http://www.internetweek.com/allStori...cleID=38100003
__________________
<img src=\"http://gfx.statgfx.com/old/folding.cgi?&username=hilowe&teamid=12864&trans=ye s&template=fah_original&.jpg\" alt=\"www.Statgfx.com\" />
hilowe is offline  
Old 08-26-2004, 05:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

You gotta hand it to bill, he really makes a fine product......
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.