windows xp SP2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2004, 12:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 82
Default windows xp SP2

any one know what sp2 will do and will it be require to download?
__________________

Traicer is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

If you do a search you will find loads of posts on SP2. But to sum it up for you, it has updated Wireless drivers and is suppose to make WiFi much easier on WinXP. Also a bunch of security fixes and I'm sure... an updated blacklist of serial numbers.
__________________

HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

You can read about all the fix's n' features Sp2 incorporates, as well as download it from this link

N' Holo... surprisingly ...sp2 doesn't have an updated blacklist of serial numbers...
But then that's probably because ..it's not the final release
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 05-13-2004, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool The Matrix: Download-it!

If you want so badly to know what it is, justdownload it and see for yourself. I'm shure the installer hase some type of disclaimer or something.

www.versiontreker.com
__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 02:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
HONK if you route packets
 
mikesgroovin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: MD
Posts: 4,715
Default

Hmmm.....that link doesn't take me anywhere....


-Mike
mikesgroovin is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 03:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

probably because it's the wrong link, seems to be broken for me too.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 09:48 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
HoLoCroN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Plant City, FL
Posts: 1,305
Default

Ditto, busted link.
HoLoCroN is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33
Default

I had a friend install it to test it out and it messed up his wireless capabilities. He had to uninstall.
MightyMouse is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 12:50 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 872
Default

Hmmm... That's wierd ..infact Sp2 is supposed to make WiFi much more easier ..than to mess stuff up.
__________________
Screenshots of my Desktop.....Post ur\'s too :D

AMD AthlonXP3000+@ 2.2GHz, Cooler Master Aero 7+, Gigabyte 7NNXP , 1GB Kingston HyperX PC3200 Dual Channel , MSI FX5600 VTDR 256 ,Pinnacle PCTV , 120+120GB Barracuda , Liteon 52x CDRW , Samsung DVDROM , Benq DW1620 16x DVD ReWriter, Phillips 21\" TV,Samsung Syncmaster 763MB,Logitech Cordless MX DUO , Thermaltake Silent PurePower 480W Butterfly Series PSU, Win XP SP2,RH9.
Creative DDTS100 Decoder, Creative Inspire TD7700 7.1 Speakers

Search TF B4 u post { Thanks for this one! Emily :) }
<form action=\"http://www.theriddlehouse.com/random/tfsearch.php\"><input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search!\"></form>
preet2u is offline  
Old 05-14-2004, 01:01 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 33
Default

I have never seen it, I am wondering if there were options or settings he could have set/unset which gave him the problems.

Once he removed it, everything worked fine.
__________________

MightyMouse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.