Windows XP SLOW / HDD / BSODS - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-08-2005, 11:41 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

- His HDD is prolly about less than a year old.

- we are currently trying to install drivers for an Onboard network device

- We will burn the backupfiles to a DVD then, and see maybe if that makes a difference.

- And yes we've uninstalled the device through the device manager, and reinstalled it. . .but with no drivers, cause it wont find them on the disc we have :S. It always just has that stupid little yellow triangle by it. Grr getting angrier. . .
__________________

martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:42 AM   #12 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Hmm a bios update eh? Where would I go about finding that though? And every time we put the thing back to either 'Fail-Safe Defaults' or 'Optimized Defaults', it seems to fail. But we can try again.
__________________

martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:44 AM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

usually bios flashes are on the mobo's manufacturer page.
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:56 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Alright Ill go check it out, although I dont know how we are gonna get it to his computer :P. Seems like a waste to put a 420kb file on a 4.7gb DVD.
martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:58 AM   #15 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to PhillipBelcher Send a message via Yahoo to PhillipBelcher
Default

no 3.5 floppy, cant on cd
PhillipBelcher is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 11:59 AM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Lame, well scratch that idea, because neither of us have floppy disk drives. Damnit. Ill have to go dig some up maybe. . .
martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 12:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

Alright well good news, we have internet on it. And the computer is running at normal speed. Just the fact of the SUPER long boot time, (and its getting longer). We are gonna try running a game now, but that requires sending it over first, so Ill post again in about an hour probably. Thanks for bearing with me so far!
martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 05:31 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Default

DAMNIT, we just tried running a game, and guess what! Frozen! So what now?!?!?!?

RIGHT after we reinstalled windows games were working fine, and then everything got messed up. Then (like I said before) we reformatted, reinstalled windows, and apart from the extreme windows boot times, the computer was working fine. Except when we open a game it freeeeeezes. Please, help. We're all out of ideas.

Note!: We just times his boot up time, and from the time we hit the reset button to the time we were back at a functional desktop, 16 minutes had passed. 16 MINUTES. That is excruciatingly long.
martianX10 is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:07 PM   #19 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I would follow Makaveli213's advice of the virus scan and run checkdisc. you obviously have a corrupted file that you keep copying back after you reinstall windows.

it also seems that you are installing some poorly written software too. watch what you install and do a system restore on each program that you install and make sure you reboot the computer after each program that you install, so you can trace which program is giving you trouble
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-08-2005, 08:10 PM   #20 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default

If you reformatted and reinstalled Windows, you need to download and install the chipset drivers for your mobo.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.