Windows XP reinstall question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-28-2006, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default Windows XP reinstall question

My HP computer came with Windows 98se installed. Later I upgraded it to Win XP and have downloaded all the updates including service pack2. These days the computer is running very slow and since I have a new computer, I would like to dump most of the stuff on it and reinstall windows. The problem is that when I put the disk in, I get the message that the version on the computer is newer and it won't continue. I noticed that on the add-remove programs in control panel lists the service pack. Should I remove the service pack and try to reinstall widows or is there a better way?
__________________

JonS is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 01:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

you need to boot from the cd to reinstall correctly. Just make sure your bios is set to do that, which most are by default, press any key when it tells you so and then follow the prompts
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 01:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you wish to simply re-install windows without saving anything... I would recommend Boot and Nuke This app will wipe out your disk. If you wish, you can uninstall the SP2 and reinstall that way. You should be booting to the disk instead of running the disk while in windows.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Thanks for your replies!
If I totally wipe the hard drive clean, will I be able to install XP using just the XP upgrade disk? I have read that it is actually a complete version, not I don't know.
JonS is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

If you only have an "Upgrade" disk, then I wouldn't wipe the drive with the boot and nuke. I would uninstall the SP2 then boot to the xp disk that you have. That will be the safest way.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 04:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

I would get my hands on a full os
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 05:10 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

I do have a full XP, but I used it when I built the new computer. Can I use the full one and then use the key from the upgrade version?
JonS is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 06:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

use the same key for that one that you did for the full os
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 24
Default

Very cool! Thanks for the help!
JonS is offline  
Old 02-28-2006, 08:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

did it work?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.