Windows XP reinstall - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-07-2004, 05:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default Windows XP reinstall

A few days ago my HD crashed & I had to replace it. When I reinstalled windows there are somethings that don't seem to be the same. The one that bothers me the most is that when i'm scrolling down a page or web site it's not a smooth scrool. It's choppy. Iv'e gone into the control panel tried a few things & nothing changes. When I scroll I use the up, down botton or the curser. Any help on this would be greatly appreicated.......O buy the way I have a lap top if that makes a difference.
__________________

charlesj is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 06:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 3
Default

hmmmm... is a reinstall not an option?
__________________

ez2earn4ever is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:43 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 9
Default Re: Windows XP reinstall

Quote:
Originally posted by charlesj
A few days ago my HD crashed & I had to replace it. When I reinstalled windows there are somethings that don't seem to be the same. The one that bothers me the most is that when i'm scrolling down a page or web site it's not a smooth scrool. It's choppy. Iv'e gone into the control panel tried a few things & nothing changes. When I scroll I use the up, down botton or the curser. Any help on this would be greatly appreicated.......O buy the way I have a lap top if that makes a difference.
It sounds like you need to download and install updated drivers for your notebook's video device (display driver). The best recommendation would be to visit the notebook's manufacturer site (i.e. Dell, Gateway, Compaq, HP, etc.), and download other drivers specific to your machine ... including:
  • mainboard
  • mouse
  • network device
  • modem
  • usb
I also recommend visiting the Microsoft update site to make certain you have the latest security patches and service pack. A lot of time you will be offered a chance to download and install device driver updates when you are doing XP updates.
!AAATechOne is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

U need to enable or disable the "smooth scroll" function in internet settings.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:53 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
U need to enable or disable the "smooth scroll" function in internet settings.
may i know where is the internet settings?
__________________
The important thing is not to stop questioning...
Albert Einstein
ZoneFire is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 07:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Open internet explorer and click "extra" I think. Then search for the Smooth scroll setting, I think advanced tab.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 08:52 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 5
Default

I've already tried the smooth scrool settings & the only
thing it did was to slow down the choppy scrolling......
charlesj is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 12:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Maybe you mean ghosting.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 10-07-2004, 05:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 422
Default

upgrade your video card drivers and install directx 9

actually installing directx 9 actuall gave me that problem once.

uninstalling and reinstalling fixed it
__________________

vance43211 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.