windows xp recovery console... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 10:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 126
Default windows xp recovery console...

im trying to repair/replace the windows/system32 folder cuz im gettin errors upon boot and will not let me in windows. when i use the delete command it says access denied. how am i able to repair/replace that folder using the recovery console? thanks
__________________

__________________
System: AMD 64 X2 6000 Dual Core, Asus microATX mobo, 3GB Mushkin PC6200 DDR2, 2x250GB Seagate HDD, Windows Vista Premium
RavishingRocket is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 11:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

System32!!!! nooo it haunts me
best way is to format... and maybe get a new disk if u keep getting this error. but u can try a link i can give u.
but i cant right now.. i can tommorow just pm me about it. (i cant do much right now...)
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 09:45 AM   #3 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Boot from the XP CD, and select 'Install Windows on this computer" under there you will get a few options, and one will be somethign about repairing a copy of Windows on this computer. It will do an over-the-top installation of Windows, just reinstalling it onto that computer whilst leaving everything intact.
Him is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

Yeah, do a repair. Don't reformat.

Too many people play the nuke option in here instead of trying to solve the problem first.
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 10:41 AM   #5 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Thats the way it is pretty much everywhere. They get that idea from computer shops, who do that just to save time and charge people $80 plus the cost of Windows to do it. They dont realize that there is a much easier, and more practical way, of doing it. There is always another way to do it.
Him is offline  
Old 05-19-2005, 06:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ShoobieRat
Yeah, do a repair. Don't reformat.

Too many people play the nuke option in here instead of trying to solve the problem first.
I honestly do not like saying 'nuke' it. However, system32 haunted me for so long and no matter what i did i could not fix it until i got a new disk. So i thought doing an install like that would just repair it then let it go back to the way it was. Sorry.

Post your results please.
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 12:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

See sig for instructions
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 01:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitze105
I honestly do not like saying 'nuke' it. However, system32 haunted me for so long and no matter what i did i could not fix it until i got a new disk. So i thought doing an install like that would just repair it then let it go back to the way it was. Sorry.

Post your results please.
You got nothing to be sorry about, man. You gave your two cents, and you made an attempt to help him.That solution worked for you, and, to the best of your knowledge, it would be the only one to work for him.
Him is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 01:33 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

If it is anything like my problem he will be having to buy a new windows disk
__________________

__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.