Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2007, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

I have XP Pro 32 bit. I downloaded the 64bit trial from Microsoft.com. I
burnt the iso to a disk and try to install. When it goes to the Windows
Setup blue screen it starts up or whatever it doing. At the end when it says
Setup is starting windows I get a blue screen of death. Do i have to reformat
the drive first?

* Somone told me its because i have 4gb's of ram and to try it with 2 in the
pc. I tried it and no luck.
__________________

Nekrage is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 09:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

What processor and mobo do you have?>
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 10:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

Are you sure you have a 64 Bit enabled processor?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 11:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

Intel Core 2 CPU 6600. I looked it up peopel say its a 64. Can anyone back that up?
Nekrage is offline  
Old 11-28-2007, 11:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

It is. What are the other parts?
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 12:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

It is 64 Bit doesnt mean that your motherboard is 64BIt or that your 64 Bit is enabled. Check your BIOS. Google for CPUz to get your mother board make and model.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 09:43 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

I trust tried reformatting and doing the install and still no luck.

I have an xps 710 and I cant find the model of the motherboard. And I also have no idea how to enable 64bit. PLEASE HELP!
Nekrage is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:00 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

Think i found something here, you think thats the model? Got this info off of CERTIFIED BY ATI - Dell XPS 710 So i guess its reliable.

Dell XPS 710
System Information Details:
Workstation manufacturer Dell

Motherboard / System Model
Dell branded BTX nForce 590

Crossfire Configurations
X1950 XT

Processors
Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700

System Controller / Northbridge chipset
NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI Intel Edition


Southbridge chipset
NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI Intel Edition MCP

SATA Devices / Storage
NVIDIA nForce 590 SLI Intel Edition MCP
Audio Support
SigmaTel 8 Channel Audio
Nekrage is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 11:02 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

I attempted to look up if the motherboard is a 32 or 64bit but I had no luck. Can anyone help me out with that?
Nekrage is offline  
Old 11-29-2007, 01:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 19
Default Re: Windows XP Professional 32bit to 64bit install

Im at work at the moment or I would call dell for some info on this motherboard. If i dont get an answer in 3 hours from now ill call when im home. Save me some time help me ; ) lol thank you in advance.
__________________

Nekrage is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Can't Install Windows to Hard Drive waytoosmall Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 5 06-19-2007 04:20 PM
URGENT HELP! Post Windows Install Keeps Deleting My Partitions datahead Microsoft Windows and Software 7 06-12-2007 09:57 AM
WinXP Pro 32bit or 64 bit? ZeeLex Microsoft Windows and Software 6 04-07-2007 03:12 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.