Windows XP problems with SP1 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2002, 05:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Leihr
Question Windows XP problems with SP1

Ok here's the scenerio, I had WinME that isn't a very stable OS so I opted and got WinXP, It was working great, except for AIM having the need to steal the focus for no apparnt reason, I upgraded to SP1, just cause it was there. I restarted my computer it worked fine the first time. And it started not connecting to my router with no error or anything, i try ipconfig /renew and says that it couldnt find a file, i uninstalled and reinstalled my network card, same problem it also takes a very long time to boot up when its doing this, if i keep restarting it, eventually it gets it right. I also get an error saying "Some of the configuration parameteres reported by the graphics driver are invalid. Windows will ignore these settings" everytime i hit Display properties->settings. any input in to any of these problems would be a great help, I updated my drivers to the newest version from geforce. i wasn't smart enough to do the back up before sp1.
__________________

Leihr is offline  
Old 09-14-2002, 08:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 173
Default

you could try going into the setup (f10 when starting up), and select last good conf. that may work but i'm not promising it'll work! also backup to be on the safe side
__________________

__________________
e6700 @ 3.0ghz stock cooling
bfg nforce 680i
dual bfg 8800gtx
Corsair XMS2-6400 C4 TwinX PC2-6400 2GB
Barracuda 7200.10 320GB 16MB Cache SATA-II x2
Enermax Galaxy 850W
Razer Copperhead Tempest Blue 2000dpi Gaming Mouse
Saitek Eclipse 2 Illuminated Keyboard
NEC LCD20WGX2 Silver Widescreen 20" TFT Monitor
crward is offline  
Old 09-14-2002, 09:10 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 1,212
Default

I get the feeling XP SP1 has done your system no good!

Try the system restore tool. It's in the start menu under system tools I think. I would presume system restore marks a checkpoint just before you install SP1. If it works then, I'd leave SP1 alone until you can assertain what is causing the problem(s.)

PS
ALWAYS BACKUP FIRST
Chopper is offline  
Old 09-15-2002, 01:15 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Cool Fix for serialz beginning with FCKGW

Check out http://kickme.to/trwhotfilez

It's a bit hairy, but it worketh. Make sure to save an html copy of the instructions to refer to as you go along, through the registry, across the tulip bed, and to other fun places.

Methinks it's time to look at Linux yet again, once more, all over again!
pppaulll is offline  
Old 09-16-2002, 12:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Default

hey... i've got a little problem... i was just wondering if anyone else has it... after installing the latest updates from windows update, for ie6 and sp1 and everything else... my ie6 doesn't always load images correctly, it will just leave the blank spaceholders with red x's on some images but load others, and different ones will load and not load when i refresh the page...???? i'm a little confused by this, and would like any help that can be given...
baser5nature is offline  
Old 09-16-2002, 02:31 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Leihr
Default

Well i figured out what was causing my computer to mess up a bit, sound blaster live! uninstalled it and downloading new drivers hopefully with this install everything will be back to normal, noone else gets that error about the video drivers giving invalid configuration parameters? i already tried updating the drivers same message Geforce3
Thx for the info, that link has a ton of info
Leihr is offline  
Old 09-16-2002, 06:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default

I have the same problem as baser5nature. When I uninstalled SP1 or re-installed XP from CD everything worked fine again. Any thoughts?
Loseris2002 is offline  
Old 09-16-2002, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 3
Send a message via AIM to Leihr
Default

Well after i installed the new drivers same thing was happening, so i downloaded SP1 and ran it again, now everything works fine, guess the express install or whatever they call it doesn't work too well.
Leihr is offline  
Old 09-25-2002, 12:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Default

turns out the ie6 image loading problem was related to norton internet security settings... reinstalled it and everything was fine...
baser5nature is offline  
Old 02-09-2003, 10:42 PM   #10 (permalink)
max
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 1
Default

check to see what is starting up, and if nothing else, just do a system restore.
__________________

max is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.