a windows XP problem of gigantic proportions (that you probably havent heard off) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-04-2006, 01:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default a windows XP problem of gigantic proportions (that you probably havent heard off)

Yesterday a friend called me over to do the simplest of tasks, get her sp2 and install it...so i brought over a cd i had of xp pro. with sp 2 and most of the updates. I started her computer, put in the cd, and clicked on install, selecting the upgrade only option (through windows)...
so windows restarted once, and started up the installation before entering windows as usuall...everything was ok until...in the middle of the freeking installating, with 39 minutes remaining a FATAL ERROR msg came up

one of the components that windows needs to continue setup could not be installed: the parameter is incorrect (E:\1386\asms)

now i figured i could just restart and cancel the installation but it keeps going back to the installation screen with 39 minutes remaining before logging into windows and the msg repeats over and over again...i cant cancel it and ive tried pressing any key with the cd inside still and canceling the whole installation with the f3 key but it always goes back to the 39 minute screen of death............
im really not sure how to get back into windows or to get rid of the installation...

im sure someone has had this problem before but it feels like its not so simple to solve...

thank you very much for any of your help....im very sorry if i posted this on the wrong forum but my friend needs her computer badly
__________________

planescape is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

why is it urgent for her to have service pack 2? service pack 1 is still supported my microsoft.


Welcome to Tech-forums!
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 01:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

I Had a similar problem, the only thing I could think of was to reformat. But theres probably another solution.
Ste is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

instead of upgrading thru windows, boot from the cd instead and format it, if that dont work, fdisk it, delete the partition and make a new one or make a new xp cd
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Warez Monster
instead of upgrading thru windows, boot from the cd instead and format it, if that dont work, fdisk it, delete the partition and make a new one or make a new xp cd
\


the thing is she really does not want to get rid of any of the info on her computer....i was thinking of reinstalling a new windows without formatting which i have done and has worked in the past...

i need to find a way to bypass the install screen without formatting!

this is so deadly, im so screwed
planescape is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:17 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

would it be to much to ask for her to backup everything?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:20 PM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

See my Sig for a repair install. However, if you are going to upgrade to SP2, download and install SP2, or reinstall Windows with a Windows XP SP2 disk. XPsp1 to XPsp2 is not an "upgrade" IMO and was not done correctly on your part.
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 03:23 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

slipstream it
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 07:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Take out that hard drive and set it as a slave. Save all the critical data to your computer in a specific file. Put the hd back in the lady's puter as the master and reformat and then copy the data to her puter by installing your HD as a slave in her system. Once accomplished you just erase that file from your drive and defragment. Swaping hard drives....may even turn out to be erotic!! Just kidding!!!
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 01-04-2006, 10:00 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RicoDirenzo
Take out that hard drive and set it as a slave. Save all the critical data to your computer in a specific file. Put the hd back in the lady's puter as the master and reformat and then copy the data to her puter by installing your HD as a slave in her system. Once accomplished you just erase that file from your drive and defragment. Swaping hard drives....may even turn out to be erotic!! Just kidding!!!
thanks for your advice! that sounds like a great solution and that is most likely what i am going to do if i cant repair possibly or maybe just install a new windows over the old one...accept that then there might be 3 windows...the old, the half installed, and then a new...which will inevitably cause many xp problems...

was it my screw up that caused this problem because i did the dumbest thing in the world: i opened the windows xp cd in windows and clicked install, i thought it would not cause problems, and i selected the 'upgrade' option instead of installing a brand new windows...it said it came recommended but i should have known better...

oh well

__________________

planescape is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.