Windows XP problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-27-2005, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default Windows XP problem

Hi guys... i was wondering if anyone of you guys can help me out. I have a Laptop with xp. the problem is that when i try to access "My Computers," it takes a really really long time to load the drives. c: d: and 4 others drives mapped to it. It takes about 5 minutes to load and after it loads, it takes another 5 minutes for me to get a a folder one level down. There are no other problems going on... I have eTrust anti-virus, ad-aware, and spy-bot with updated signatures. after running all of those, it didn't help at all... i also defragged, disk clean, and check disk but didn't help... i also tried to do a system restore but that didn't help neither.

What should i try to do next??

Thank you in advance..
__________________

__________________
If you don\'t regret anything, then you didn\'t learn anything!!!
ITwannabee is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 06:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 17
Default

Have you "unmapped" the other drives and tried?

If it stil does it with the mapped drives disabled, then I betcha you have a USB device (printer or scanner) that is foobar'd.

Let me know about unmapping.
__________________

bradly is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 07:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default

I'll try unmapping the drives on the server and see what happens.. There are no USB's physically connected to the laptop though. printer and scanner is on the network. I'll still try to disable the mapped drives and see if it's better.. i'll let you guys know..

Thanks for the reply..
__________________
If you don\'t regret anything, then you didn\'t learn anything!!!
ITwannabee is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 06:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default

I tried unmapping all 5 drives and it does work now!!! When i tried to map them back, it was giving me problems again. does that mean that the laptop is old?? how do i fix this problem??

Someone please help...

Thanks!
__________________
If you don\'t regret anything, then you didn\'t learn anything!!!
ITwannabee is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 09:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105
Default

If mapping it slowed it down so badly.. then i don't see why you should "map" it?

Maybe its just me..
-blitze
__________________
I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Old 06-06-2005, 10:11 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Do the network setup wizard again then map your drives.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 10:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

What are the Laptop specs?
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 11:54 AM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default

It's a old PIII and only has 1.8 gig left in the c:... I'm not quite sure about the RAM though maybe a 256? I was thinking that lack of memory would cause this problem right??

the laptop is part of a domain and i have to map the drives from the server... It's been part of the domain for 4 years and just recently started having this problem...
__________________
If you don\'t regret anything, then you didn\'t learn anything!!!
ITwannabee is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 03:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 479
Default

may be the network connection is slowing down? or just map one or two drives.. as you use them, admit it's a bit more cumbersome..
__________________
lisp hacker :D
running: FreeBSD 5.4 - still learning :D
develop with: SBCL + emacs for lisp, Anjuta IDE +gcc for c, SPE for python..
browse with: opera
furtivefelon is offline  
Old 06-07-2005, 04:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 126
Default

I tried mapping just one drive from the server and it's already slow. I also doubt that it's the network connection.

Does anyone know the reason why it's acting like this??? or maybe what would cause this to happen??
__________________

__________________
If you don\'t regret anything, then you didn\'t learn anything!!!
ITwannabee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.