Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-21-2007, 02:42 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

So then the best thing to do is go 64 or bite the bullet and run 3 gigs.
__________________

saywhat5959 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 02:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Yes you should of researched more before you buy and 4gb of ram on xp is only needed for CAD work it has no effect on gaming performance
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 03:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Dante_Caligari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 444
Send a message via MSN to Dante_Caligari
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

I am tired of people saying that you can have too much RAM. You can never have too much RAM! I have 2GB and there are DAILY instances where so much is used up that I could REALLY benefit from more. If you bought the RAM, you should be able to use it man.
__________________
<img src="http://i43.photobucket.com/albums/e372/dante_caligari/newsig_7_expL.jpg">
<font face=tahoma color=red size=1>Knowledge is power.</font></td></table>
Dante_Caligari is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

what salty said....
it's not ms ppl....it's the old architecture...hence why I worded it hardware not software more or less
it's complicated sort of, if you read up you'd understand easy enough...io, bios, etc
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 04:20 PM   #15 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
wrong 64 bit does have a ram limitation its 120gb though

and its not a Microsoft decision it is unanimous amongst all 32 bit operating system you can't get an OS not even a linux 32 bit that will address more then 3-3.5gb of ram
they still lied about it. we figure out 2-3 years ago that upgrading from 2 gigs to 4 gig made your system slower. we complained to ms. they said to upgrade to 64bit or wait for vista as it wouldn't have this issue.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 07:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by saltynay View Post
wrong 64 bit does have a ram limitation its 120gb though

and its not a Microsoft decision it is unanimous amongst all 32 bit operating system you can't get an OS not even a linux 32 bit that will address more then 3-3.5gb of ram
No desktop mother board can support that much RAM in the first place. That is more for servers than desktop machines that a person runs from their house. So saying that it had no limit was just meaning that with the mother boards available on the market, most of which max out at 16GB of RAM. So expecting to reach the limit of 120GB is unthinkable with the common motherboards.

About the architecture...Gee they have the same kernel for both of the Vista versions. It is both 6.0 and after SP1 it will be 6.1, why cant they continue trying to make the platforms more unifed instead of making them more competative. Thats right. Cause then they would lose money from both markets if they were equals on teh OS side. My bad.

M$ is greedy. That is why they dont make the 32 Bit OS recognize more RAM. Espically today. Linux coders jsut cant get that far. They are open source so why should they care about any kind of standards. It is because they are not capable of coding the OS for 64 Bit that is why there is none out there yet.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vienna re-codenamed Windows Mesa ??? Joe Li Off Topic Discussion 30 08-31-2007 05:09 AM
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM
Mac OSX style Windows Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-06-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.