Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-20-2007, 12:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Post Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Ok I have seen some threads started on this but no one has any knowledge on how to fix this other than upgrading to 64 bit XP or Vista.

XP pro with sp2 only shows up to 3 gb of Ram some cases show 3.5gb. I recently installed 4gb. Bios shows 4 gb XP Pro shows 3gb.

If anyone has a realistic work around that won't screw with the compatability issues can you please elaborate?

Here is the Microsoft link but does not suggest a fix.
The amount of RAM reported by the System Properties dialog box and the System Information tool is less than you expect after you install Windows XP Service Pack 2

Thanks,
__________________

saywhat5959 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 01:33 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

PAE...

nothing more than to research that...get a good grounding for what it means...

It's a hardware thing and not software, more or less...

your link may have led to somewhere to tell you how to work with it...adding switches here and there to something
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 08:06 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

What kind of video card do you have. XP 32 Bit will only recognize 3-3.5GB of RAM that includes your Video Card as well. This is due to the limitations built in by M$. That is why everyone suggests to upgrade to XP X64 or Vsta 64 Bit cause 64 Bit does not have those limitations. Other than that you have no other options. XP 32 Bit will never recognize nor fully use your 4GB. Sorry.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 01:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Can I even upgrade to XP Pro 64? Here is what I have as far as processor and video card

PROCESSOR, PENTIUM 4 NORTHWOOD, 3.46, 2, 1066, SOCKET T

ATI GRAPHICS, 256, X850, UHMGA12

I checked the BIOS (DELL A07) and I thought under the processor tab it showed that I did not have 64 support. However I did speak with Dell and they said I should be able to run it.

Any ideas on how to switch over?
saywhat5959 is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 03:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Well first get a copy of CPUz. It is free and easy to find. Just use Google. From there you run it and it will tell you if your CPU can do 64 Bit or not. That will tell you if you can do the upgrade to 64Bit.

The switch over...well that will be very complicated. As drivers, applications and mnay other things are not very convient to transfer between the 2 OS's. So my best advice would be to get a NAS (Network Attached Storage) and backup as much as you can. From there do a fresh install of XP X64 and then re-install what you can and use your backups where possible. It wont be easy at all. I dont think you can just use a XP X64 upgrade disc and upgrade your current OS. I think that is impossible.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 03:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
Well first get a copy of CPUz. It is free and easy to find. Just use Google. From there you run it and it will tell you if your CPU can do 64 Bit or not. That will tell you if you can do the upgrade to 64Bit.

The switch over...well that will be very complicated. As drivers, applications and mnay other things are not very convient to transfer between the 2 OS's. So my best advice would be to get a NAS (Network Attached Storage) and backup as much as you can. From there do a fresh install of XP X64 and then re-install what you can and use your backups where possible. It wont be easy at all. I dont think you can just use a XP X64 upgrade disc and upgrade your current OS. I think that is impossible.

make sure you got to windows update if you use the file and setting tranfer wizard as it has a fix to make it compatible with xp64bit
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-20-2007, 03:31 PM   #7 (permalink)
Graphic Designer
 
mssssee2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Thessaloniki, Greece
Posts: 506
Send a message via MSN to mssssee2 Send a message via Yahoo to mssssee2
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

I agree with Makaveli that's what it is, besides it is a marketing way for Microsoft. However, WHy do you need 4GB? 3.5 are enough.
__________________
Mike from Greece, 16

mssssee2 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 12:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mssssee2 View Post
I agree with Makaveli that's what it is, besides it is a marketing way for Microsoft. However, WHy do you need 4GB? 3.5 are enough.
I'm not even getting 3.5. I'm only getting 3g. I don't need the extra gig but I paid for it why not use it you know? So the general consensus seems to be do a clean install. Is there anything I need to do to the BIOS? It showed "64bit not supported."
saywhat5959 is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 02:20 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Welcome to the world of 32 bit. ms lied because they said vista wouldn't have this issue, but the 32 bit one does
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 09-21-2007, 02:36 PM   #10 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Windows XP PRO vs. 4 GB RAM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Makaveli213 View Post
What kind of video card do you have. XP 32 Bit will only recognize 3-3.5GB of RAM that includes your Video Card as well. This is due to the limitations built in by M$. That is why everyone suggests to upgrade to XP X64 or Vsta 64 Bit cause 64 Bit does not have those limitations. Other than that you have no other options. XP 32 Bit will never recognize nor fully use your 4GB. Sorry.
wrong 64 bit does have a ram limitation its 120gb though

and its not a Microsoft decision it is unanimous amongst all 32 bit operating system you can't get an OS not even a linux 32 bit that will address more then 3-3.5gb of ram
__________________

__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Vienna (Blackcomb) mssssee2 Microsoft Windows and Software 16 09-23-2007 03:57 AM
Windows Vienna re-codenamed Windows Mesa ??? Joe Li Off Topic Discussion 30 08-31-2007 05:09 AM
Windows Installation Problem ksmarks Microsoft Windows and Software 0 07-07-2007 04:06 PM
Mac OSX style Windows Cyber.Logan New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-06-2007 12:05 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.