Windows XP Pro Startup Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-31-2006, 07:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default Windows XP Pro Startup Problem

Few months ago, I made a copy of my Windows XP cd..Now, I cant use my back up cd because it has no bootup or startup something like that so MS-DOS prompt me of error boot drive, please insert another media then press ENTER (Im not sure about what it stated I forgot )..One of my friend told me that it was integrated in the XP cd that the boot files cant be copied to prevent piracy is that true? My original XP cd cant be used anymore also because of so many scratches in it..

Now I purchased a new HD and daydreaming of how shall I install my WinXP using the back up cd that I have...Is there something like a start up disk like that of Win98? Or any other way? Please help...TY
__________________

__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 10:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

think this is the boot disk it takes 6 floppies i believe might be mistaken though.

Why cant you boot with CD? did you set the CD drive as the first boot device in the BIOS? and it doesn't matter if xp is a copy as long as you have your original serial key should be fine.
__________________

__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

You can use Nero to make it bootable.

I forgot the website, was trying to remember it
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 06:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you were suppose to rip it as an iso, then copy it back
or rip it with nlite.

you can import it with nlite now and make it a bootable iso
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 07:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Aha! found it http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=297
__________________

Law is offline  
Old 10-31-2006, 10:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
0tz
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 196
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by baronvongogo
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

think this is the boot disk it takes 6 floppies i believe might be mistaken though.

Why cant you boot with CD? did you set the CD drive as the first boot device in the BIOS? and it doesn't matter if xp is a copy as long as you have your original serial key should be fine.
Yup I set it as the first boot device...But it seems that it cant read my cd...

I have installed my XP last time by installing first Win98 then upgrade. But since now I want a clean installation of XP, thats why Im having these problems.

Anyway thanks for the links Ill better check it out when I arrive home....

by the way, my cd has no sp2 so it means i should make a boot cd that is not intended for winxp sp2?
__________________
AMD Athlon 64 3800+ Venice
MSI K8N Neo4-F
Palit Geforce 6200TC 256Mb
2x512Mb SS Corsair Value Select
160Gb Seagate SATA

http://miniprofile.xfire.com/bg/bg/t...alamandoti.png
0tz is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 04:15 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

yes there are other versions for the boot disks:

xp pro original:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...7-4FED408EA73F

xp pro service pack 1:
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...2-631504EF5E26
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I told you what to do.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 11:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
baronvongogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: United Kingdom, Warrington
Posts: 2,756
Default

Where you telling him to rip his xp copy to his hard drive then use nite to put it as an ISO, sorry ericb I just found it a little confusing
__________________
baronvongogo is offline  
Old 11-01-2006, 12:55 PM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you download and install nlite. you put the xp cd in the drive where it ask for the location of the xp cd. it will rip the contents to the hdd. if will give you a bunch of options. only pick create a bootable iso option.


now burn that iso to cd with nero, poweriso or alcohol. it will boot now. I have a super windows dvd, which have every version of windows on it, but it never seem to work right straight from the dvd. so I burn each windows xp folder to it's own disc. if I do it without importing the folder into nlite. they won't boot

the highlighted folder are the different version of windows that i have broke down into single copies

__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.