Windows XP Pro issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-15-2006, 12:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default Windows XP Pro issues

Okay I have so many problems in WIndows XP that instead of creaqting multiple threads I will just create it in this one big one that you guys can help.

Problems:

1) I cant use Windows Installer or in otherwords install any softwares.
2) Windows doesnt have any interface. Everytime I run Explorer.exe via Task Manager it tends to close it.
3) I can't use Housecall.antivirus.com to scan for viruses.

Any help?

Problems Extended

1) I cant use Windows Installer or in otherwords install any softwares. I must have been deleting some files to clear some space up my harddrive. I obviously deleted the wrong file and now I cant install anything. I used system restore to restore my cmoputer to an older time and it didnt work. NOw I cant even undo the restoration.
2) Windows doesnt have any interface. Everytime I run Explorer.exe via Task Manager it tends to close it. Because of trying to undo the restoration, it resulted in an incomplete one. So now windows doesnt show anything but the wallpaper. I can still run softwares via Task Manager though.

3) I can't use Housecall.antivirus.com to scan for viruses. This has been happening for a while. I tried using it in Firefox and it wont work. I tried using it in Internet Explorer and it wont work. The loading times seems to be extremely slow, and I never get to download the software even after leaving it online overnight.
__________________

akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

have you tried a repair installation?
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default

Whats a repair installation? You mean to put the Windows XP disc in and repair or what?
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 12:46 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

yes, if you boot from an XP CD you get the option to repair an existing installation, Press "R" the second time you're propted to do so.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
This is sparta!
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 744
Default

Oh okay.
__________________
Windows 7 Pro
i7 920 | 6gb | 4850 CF
akasixcon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.