Windows XP Pro - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-06-2005, 01:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default Windows XP Pro

What are the differences between Windows XP Professional SP1, SP2, and the windows xp before service pack 1, since SP1 was a download from windows.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 07:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

sp2 fixes bugs and has a better security feature
__________________

__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
RicoDirenzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 2,102
Default

Security, security, security....the bugs that it fixes won't be noticeble in most single Pc's as most of the fixes are network platform issues.
__________________
Noli Nothis Permittere Te Terere!!
EVGA 680i, Dual EVGA 8800GT'S (650/950), 4 gigs OCZ DDR2 1066, Intel Q9450 at 3.8 Ghz, Koolance Water Cooled, Dual Plextor16x DL DVD+/-RW. Dual WD 250gb 16mb Cache Sata 3.0. 3DMark06 score = 19,168.
RicoDirenzo is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

My friends PC was dead literally dead. SP2 saved his PC by fixing enough bugs to allow me the access I need to fix the PC manually from there.
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

SP2 killed my neighbours PC. I couldn't fix it.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 09:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

has anybody tried windows xp before SP1 was released? how as it?
talldude123 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 10:37 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

Why concern yourself with SP1 currently it is outdatted?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:15 PM   #8 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by talldude123
has anybody tried windows xp before SP1 was released? how as it?
XP 2600 was superfast as hell (3x faster than sp2), but anybody could come in the back door and do what they want
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 12-06-2005, 11:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

SP2 insulted my mother.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 04:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

I run XP without SP1a or SP2. Runs fine.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.