Windows xp with pentium 200 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2003, 09:32 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Unhappy Windows xp with pentium 200

I've got a very rear problem

I installed Windows XP Professional with SP1 succesfully on a
Pentium 200 MMX machine. but there is one problem

The system restarts automaticly when i

- open the general page of the system properties
- open system information
- like to use Windows Update

On that general page the Windows and user information will
be displayed, but under the "computer" section it's empty
until a few seconds and than the system restarts

There are no stop errors or events displayed.
And the installation works perfect under XP

this is the configuration

Pentium 200 MMX Processor
VIA Chipset and Award 4.51PG Bios)
2 Network cards (of Realtek and 3com)
Sound Blaster PCI-128
2 Harddisks (one of 10 GB the other of only 1 GB)
1 Cd-Writer of philips PCRW800
2 USB busses of VIA
17 inch monitor, ms keyboard normal, PS2 Mouse
512 K L2 Cache
2 Serial and 1 Parallel port

The 3COM and SOUND CARD are using the same IRQ (7)
If i change settings in the IRQ table in the BIOS, than the
operating system will not be started at all

theo is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 10:25 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500

Welcome Theo,,

The difficulty here I see is that you are FARRRR below the Minimal needs for XP,,

so yes you met the ability to install the XP,, your system works,, however,, can it support XP?? NO,,,

You need minimum PII 233,, I know they say 233,, but more realistically PII,,

The OS is unable to load and support with stability.. all the services


Crash Abbott

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 11:32 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12
Default problem


But wat can be the problem that i can't view the processor
in the general tab of the system properties, can't windows xp
display a pentium 200, or is it a memory problem etc..
theo is offline  
Old 12-05-2003, 11:42 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 549

what hes saying is- you may have fully installed xp to the hd, but you do not meet the minimum req. for xp to run. you need a faster processor and more memory.

your processor is fast enough to run win2000, i would go w/that if i were you.
This is Linux country. If you listen carefully, you can hear Windows reboot...
<a href=\"\"> How to ask questions the smart way.</a>
<a href=\"\"> Help stop the PIRATE Act.</a>

chrönik04 is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 05:47 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12

In Windows 2000 i've got the same, i can't get to the General
tab of the system properties, and i can't start Windows Update
because the system hangs when i try
theo is offline  
Old 12-07-2003, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ

have u tried installing the OS on the other HD? im not saying do it but im curious if u would get the sam e problem by installing it onto the other HD.
ADZ is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 12

Yes i tried but it's not succesful, Windows 95/98 and ME will
work perfectly but Windows 2000 and XP not,
theo is offline  
Old 12-08-2003, 04:31 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 73

windows xp is very choosy on what it requires itself to run. Personally I do not like XP but the system that you are describing fits 95/98 pretty good. Even if you got the xp to work it would be very slow running. You would be very limited on what programs you could run because of the limited resources being eaten up by XP.
mitschej is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 02:06 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 26
Default Why stress out?

The cost to rebuild the computer to support windows xp would be minimal compared to the stress of installing windows xp on a dinosaur like that lol.
cowticket is offline  
Old 12-10-2003, 08:49 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 434

lol Nice job getting it installed, it sounds like the comp just cant take it lol.

I agrue with people.|
digital_darknes is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.