windows XP OEM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-30-2006, 06:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Question windows XP OEM

Is it true tht you can only use windows xp oem once 2 install it on your computer.
__________________

jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-30-2006, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 24
Default

That has not been my experience, but I use mainly Dell Precision series licence pack. I have one CD that I have installed on numerous stations with the exact same key. I have to add that all the Precisions have a valid OEM XP key but it is a pain having to decipher the tiny font on the sticker that is usually in a bad location.
__________________

kranich is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 05:20 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default

Well i thought it doesnt matter how many times but i have brought an windows xp oem of overclockers and i went on to there forum and noticed this http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/sho...php?t=17606375 that is what led me to thing that
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 05:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

If you get bored and read EULA (someone must have) it will state that once you activate it, you can only install it onto that PC. If you change your motherboard or case you need to buy a new copy. Everything else can change. I don't think there is a limit on how many times you can install it onto that motherboard/case.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 05:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Hmmm, odd. It hasnt included me as the last replier and included in the total post count.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 08:59 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default

Well i was thinking of changing my case so i will have 2 do that before i install windows then. I think that is stupid really because what happens if your motherboard becomes faulty, would you have to buy a new 1 if the motherboard is replaced?
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:02 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

They will not know if you have changed your case, but it is still there in the liscence agreement. For motherboard, they will not know a direct replacement has happened, as it will not be any different.

I have had the same copy of XP on 3 different motherboards though. You can always back up your activation files so you dont need to re acivate it though.
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default

even if they change the model of the moptherboard then it wont matter?
__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:15 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

I will not say a definate yes to that. I did it though as I needed a new motherboard, and didn't know it was against the terms.

To be honest, just don't install the infamous WGA and you will not have a problem. (It will try to install it for every update you have - also MS is going to court about it too as it collects data about your PC with out your permission.)
__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 09:17 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 889
Default

so how do i stop it from installing WGA
__________________

__________________
jay_bo is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.