Windows XP to new HD? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2004, 01:14 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Question Windows XP to new HD?

Hey Peeps, here's the scoop: I just recently installed windows xp home onto a hard drive. Basically, that was a bad move, since I am replacing the HD soon. I need to find a way to get winxp home installed on the new hard drive when I get it, but without the crack. The simple and evil way is always an option, but do you have any other solutions? I mean, I'm transferring everything, so it's not like its REALLY going to be a new computer. Rather, it is a new computer, but not a separate. Help?
__________________

WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 01:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

well if you didn't activate it,your alright
__________________

derrmc is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 02:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

and if i did? lmao
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 02:07 AM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

You will have to either use the crack or call Microsoft and try to convince them that you took it off of your old hard drive, which is very hard to do. Its pretty much either use the crack or buy a new copy of XP.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 02:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 808
Default

Well exuse the hell out of me
derrmc is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 06:54 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 26
Default

whts the new hdd capacity... try Notron Ghost or else CRACK xp
Layman is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 03:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 37
Default

I've heard Ghost doesn't work, but in case it does, can you explain how it works exactly? In n00b terms please.
WyvernOfEzru is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 03:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 887
Default

i agree layman, use ghost.

what norton ghost does is to make an exact duplicate of your hard drive onto another hard drive.

i have known of many good cases of people using ghost without problems.
__________________

xotix is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.