Windows XP Media Center Edition = XP Pro? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2006, 09:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default Windows XP Media Center Edition = XP Pro?

My dad bought a new laptop and it came with Microsoft Windows Media Center Edition.

In the system information, it says it's Windows XP Pro (build 5600 or 2600 I can't remember). In the start menu, it says XP Media Center Edition.

He wants to format it to get rid of all the AOL crap, spy sweeper, norton, etc. But it didn't come with a XP installation CD (which is weird, it should of).

So, I was wondering if Windows XP Pro and Media Center are the same exact os? What's the difference?

Also, will the Media Center serial # work for a XP Pro installation?

Thanks
__________________

__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 06-30-2006, 09:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

No. MCE is not the same as XP Pro. MCE has some extra stuff that is not in XP Pro. Just the same the Serial for the MCE will not work for XP Pro and the serial for XP Pro wouldnt work for MCE.

Check and see if there is a seperate partition on the HDD that has the restore options. Some manufacturers do that now. Other than that he can call the Manufacturer and tell them he wants a CD. It might cost him a few bucks but he has the right to his CD if he chooses to have it.

Other than that i would check to make sure that there is no other partition that has the Restore info that he has to burn to CD himself.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

Yes, there is a partition for the restore. But we don't want to RESTORE. We want a fresh copy of XP.

Why can't I download a copy of XP MCE? Maybe Microsoft has a trial edition or something?
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 03:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

They dont have a trial edition available. I wish they did. Also most of the time the downloads that are out htere are for the older version not the newer one like you have. So it would be a downgrade in the OS for him to do it that way.

So either you have to try and get a CD or you see if you can burn the OS form the Restore Partition.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 05:49 PM   #5 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

I can show you how to install windows on that computer with a bart pe cd in you want

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...hreadid=110996

If your PC lacks a Windows CD, a folder named 'i386' containing the Windows installation files is probably in the root directory of drive C: or in your C:\Windows folder. Your system may have several i386 folders, but the one you want has a lot of files with extensions ending in underscores (_), along with the executable files expand.exe, regedit.exe, and winnt32.exe. Copy this folder onto a CD for safekeeping, though you'll use the version on the hard drive to actually reinstall Windows.

Keep your 25-character Windows Product Key handy--you'll need it to reinstall the OS. The number is on the back of your PC, on the bottom of your notebook, or in some other hard-to-read spot; it may be listed in the documentation as well.

You'll also need a bootable CD for starting the install process. Bart Lagerweij's free PE Builder creates a CD-bootable version of XP called Bart's Pre-install Environment, or BartPE, from either a Windows CD or the i386 folder. Click here to download PE Builder.

Open PE Builder's main dialog box and select the folder or drive containing your i386 folder, but not the folder itself. Check Create ISO image, click Burn to CD, and select your CD-RW drive from the Device drop-down menu. If PE Builder doesn't support your burner, double-click the PE Builder--created .iso file to launch your CD authoring program and burn the CD.

To reinstall Windows, boot from the BartPE CD you just created and select Go, Programs, A43 File Management Utility (see Figure 1). Navigate to the hard drive's i386 folder (do not use the i386 folder on the CD). Double-click winnt32.exe to start the installation process. When the installation program closes, reboot your PC, remove the CD, and select Microsoft Windows XP Setup from the resulting boot menu. The installation will pick up where it left off.
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

I think I might save the trouble and request HP Send me a copy of Windows XP OS.
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:28 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default

I also want HP (or Compaq) to send me an XP CD for my MCE... How would I go about requesting this?
__________________
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
ASUS M2N32 Sli-Deluxe Wireless edition
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ (AM2)
Western Digital WD1001FALS 1TB Sata 2.0 HDD
Maxtor 200GB Sata 1.5 HDD
4GB (4x1GB) Kingston DDR2 PC6400 RAM
Nvidia EVGA GeForce 8600GT 512MB 128 bit
Antec TruePower Quattro 850 PSU
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 10:57 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 422
Default

They won't send it. I did a live chat, and they gave me the product number for the restore DVDs.

I'm very disappointed. But it's not my laptop so I don't care. I would do a live chat with them and complain to them like I did. Ask for a OS CD.

Edit: If you have tech experience, download XP MCE off of a torrent and burn it to a CD and use the serial # on bottom of your laptop. And if it works, let me know
__________________

Current PC
Windows 7 Pro x64
AMD 965 Black Edition 3.4GHz
ASUS Crossfire III
Corsair 650 Watt
12GB RAM
Sapphire ATI 5770
500GB Samsung*2 | 150GB VelicoRaptor 10K HDD
1TB Samsung
Jobs
Electrician
C# Programmer+Web Programmer
Gamer :)
mack is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:07 PM   #9 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mack
They won't send it. I did a live chat, and they gave me the product number for the restore DVDs.

I'm very disappointed. But it's not my laptop so I don't care. I would do a live chat with them and complain to them like I did. Ask for a OS CD.

Edit: If you have tech experience, download XP MCE off of a torrent and burn it to a CD and use the serial # on bottom of your laptop. And if it works, let me know
it won't work. it isn't the same cd. trust me. i've been there, done that
__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Nope most of the MCE editions on Torrent are MCE 2002 or MCE 2003 and not the current MCE 2006 like what should be installed. So it wouldnt work.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.