windows xp logon - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-21-2006, 12:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Yeah people keep telling me to go there, I don't see it either.

This is XP Pro too, so I dunno.
__________________

__________________
The General is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:37 PM   #12 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,388
Default

Admin Tools is in the Control Panel.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:38 PM   #13 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 12:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

Yeah but in control panel, admin tools these are the icons that i have:

Component Services, Computer Management, Data Sources (ODBC), Event Viewer, Performance, Services.

I have windows xp home edition service pack 2
__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 02:56 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 275
Default

That explains, he has XP home, there is no Policy editor. I dont know whether this works in home, but under run, type "gpedit.msc" that sould bring up all the group policies and should be settable under there, although im unsure as to whether Home edition accepts it! Please dont shout at me if it doesnt!

Ruan
__________________
RGELLIS is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 03:18 PM   #16 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RGELLIS
Please dont shout at me if it doesnt!

I'm SHOUTING!
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 04:36 PM   #17 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trotter
Admin Tools is in the Control Panel.
Okay I found it now. Thanks. :classic:
__________________
The General is offline  
Old 07-21-2006, 09:12 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

what do you mean by shout?

RGELLIS: that gpedit.msc didn't work...

I know that this works with windows xp home edition sp2 cause i did it to my other pc but can't remember how...
__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 06:41 AM   #19 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,829
Default

I got professional now and i can see that option and its disabled but its not working just like home edition isn't working.

Please help.
__________________
Norcent is offline  
Old 11-25-2006, 01:27 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
kfc469's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 928
Send a message via AIM to kfc469
Default

try going to google and putting in: LOCAL SECURITY POLICY "xp home" and see if that comes up with anything
__________________

__________________

kfc469 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.