windows xp login problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-17-2002, 11:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1
Question windows xp login problems

hey, if anyone is able to help me out ehre it would be greatly appreciated.

we've been running windows xp home for about 2 months now, with no major problems other than simple driver incompadibility. but other than that we were fine up till yesterday..

I restarted the computer, and we have multiple accounts setup. Clicked on my account to sign in, I see my background, and it logs me right back out. Same goes for all the accounts. The only way I can access anything is through safe mode, safe mode with networking doesnt even work, it boots me right out after I click to log in.

Any suggestions?


sglrd is offline  
Old 08-18-2002, 12:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Martin's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: California
Posts: 1,422

Have you tried re-configuring the user accounts through the Control Panel in safe mode?

Martin's Page of Stuff

I judge you when you use poor grammar.
Martin is offline  
Old 08-19-2002, 06:27 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2

Did you activate your version of XP with Microsoft?
JulieM is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 06:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1
Default re: windows xp login problems

I had the same issue, using windows xp home, the system is activated, running norton av 2004. the issue just seemed to pop up. I of course ran norton and found nothing obvious, since I could not seem to resolve the issue and had no available restore points, I had to totally reinstall xp. once xp was installed, I went right to installing norton again before doing anything else, once I went online after that though, I got a popup warning from norton that I had contracted the most recent version of the original blaster worm (not sure the exact name though) and had to download the removal tool from symantic. that seems to have corrected the issue. my best suggestion, try loading a restore point in safe mode, once that is done, make sure your net connection has the firewall on it and if possible, us antivirus with the latest might have the same problem I had.
zacr is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 10:14 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 107

you said that it will go into regular safe mode fine but not in safe mode with networking.. right Try unplugging your cable modem or dsl modem if you have one than reboot and try to log in normal. Sound like you may have a problem with that maybe a virus like they said before.
bhoney is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 06:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1


was there a final conclusion on what caused this problem because i have had it happen to me tonight. i installed AVG anti virus on an XP home edition, the PC (SONY vio) rebooted, when i logged back in the AVG antivirus flashed a message saying that it had detected WIN32/PARITE virus in \system32\userinit. the message then disappeared and the system logged me out, no matter what profile i use to log in, it logs me out straight away.

i went back in using safe mode but couldn't get back to a "last good state".

when i restarted the PC i couldn't even log into safe mode without the PC logging me out immeadiatly.

i have got hold of some software to rid the PC of the virus and intend to return and try to fix it tomorrow.

if anybody knows a fix to this login marlarky it would be received with thanks.

mirv is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 08:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937

use your restore CD to restore your winXP. you will lose all data on drive C, but all other drives will remain intact. if you need to save anything on C use knopixx or slave your disk or install an OS over it, save data, than use the restore CD to put back winXP.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 03-12-2004, 09:55 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via Yahoo to m3z

Before you go through all that try logging in to you Administrator account reset everything there and disable what you need to.

Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-8KNXP SATA 8X/4X AGP PRO
Processor:Pentium 4 3.4
Video: NVidia TNT2 RIVA, Sound Blaster Live
Ram: 4 gig of Kingston DDR Ram (3200)
Hard Drive:maxtor x2 120 gig ATA133 w/ 8meg buffer
m3z is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.