Windows XP Loading Problem - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2003, 06:21 PM   #21 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gq-Souljah
i have the Asus Geforce FX 5200
How much onboard memory?
__________________

__________________
A+ Certified
Network + Certified
MCP Windows 2000 Pro and Server
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator
kirk1701 is offline  
Old 09-30-2003, 01:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
ADZ
Master Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,231
Send a message via Yahoo to ADZ
Default

Could it be a possible PSU issue - I am having the same issue up to here, and have completely different hardware specs. The PSU does have a sort of ring to it.
__________________

ADZ is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 10:05 AM   #23 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Default

Ok guys.. i got the system to not restart and it came up with the same error again.... its says.. Windows has been shut down to prevent damage to the hardware or something.. then it says.

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

anybody know what this means?
Gq-Souljah is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 01:25 PM   #24 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Page fault errors are memory problems, now this don't mean your memory is bad, just that it probably won't work with your motherboard.

Has it worked at all since the time you installed it?
What Brand of memory?
__________________
A+ Certified
Network + Certified
MCP Windows 2000 Pro and Server
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator
kirk1701 is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 04:24 PM   #25 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Default

it works.. its just.. when it boots up.. sometimes it will give me the blue error screen.. but after i restart it.. works fine..

juss earlier today.. it went into standby mode by itself.. and then when i press a key.. the blue screen started up.. this has only happened once
Gq-Souljah is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 06:21 PM   #26 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Sounds like typical loop error. Sugest you read more here:

http://www.viaarena.com/?PageID=64
__________________
A+ Certified
Network + Certified
MCP Windows 2000 Pro and Server
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator
kirk1701 is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 06:26 PM   #27 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 24
Default

how would i be able to fix this?
Gq-Souljah is offline  
Old 10-05-2003, 06:35 PM   #28 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Gq-Souljah
how would i be able to fix this?
The fix is different for everyone, I would start with making sure you have a big enough PSU, at least 350-400Watt for starters.

Next, NO OVERCLOCKING the CPU, start with defaults and change one setting at a time raising the VCore on the CPU, then on the memory, and last the voltage on the video card one notch, but do these each one at a time, don't go overboard and try adjusting all at once.

Next, make sure your device drivers all are up to date, this includes chipset, video card, and onboard RAID and NIC controllers.

Hope this helps but none of this will help without first having an adaquate PSU.
__________________
A+ Certified
Network + Certified
MCP Windows 2000 Pro and Server
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator
kirk1701 is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 12:18 AM   #29 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 469
Default

what do your event logs say?
__________________
Death has a thousand doors, let's see which one our victim chose.

"There's one thing that you learn on this job, is that human beings are capable of anything"

If you chase two rabbits, you lose them both

You say tomato... I say cause of death
For sale/trade
http://www.techist.com/pc/f40/fully-...r-fs-t-139695/
microsoftne is offline  
Old 10-09-2003, 09:10 AM   #30 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 52
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by microsoftne
what do your event logs say?
Log events will show the same thing

"Memory Dump caused in bla bla bla KRNL by drivername"
__________________

__________________
A+ Certified
Network + Certified
MCP Windows 2000 Pro and Server
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator
kirk1701 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.