Windows XP - Laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-19-2005, 07:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default Windows XP - Laptop

Hi I would like to know how to install Win Xp, on a home laptop computer, the only snag is that the laptop has got 64mb Ram?

Ciao

HAPPY XMAS

SCALEO P ~ SAY NO MORE
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:50 AM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Well they say minimal 128 recommend 256 RAM for XP. I personally think that is low. I would say either put 98SE on there or Up the RAM. XP will run like a turtle in molasses with only 64MB of RAM.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default

i think you need atleast 128 mb or more to install xp dont mark my word on that though i am not 100% positive some please correct me if i am wrong
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:53 AM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Thats what they say but you can get it to install on 64MB. It will take a week and a day but it will install. That and some tweaking.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:55 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default

wow i have come along way from when i first started here on tech forums from not knowing much stuff to knowing an awful alot of information
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 07:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

Thankyou all.
ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 08:04 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 360
Default

no problem hope i helped
ITZBVAN005 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so do you know how to install it? what is on it right now?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 11:31 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 239
Default

If you install it on 64MB it will be slow and you will have to disable themes as well as some other processes that XP has enabled by default. And you basically will be able to run your operating system and thats it. Use Windows 2000.
BandwidthHogg is offline  
Old 12-24-2005, 03:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 377
Default

no luck then
__________________

ere_in_cornwall is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.