Windows XP keeps restarting - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2005, 06:07 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932

Originally posted by Sylvan56473
I tried repairing Windows Xp again and about 1/2 way or more into it a box popped up that said this

"The software you are installing for
NVIDIA GeForce2 MX/MX 400
has not passed Windows logo testing to verify its compatibility with Windows XP"

Then you have a choice to either continue installing it or cancel. No matter which way I chose the computer restarts just seconds afterwards.

Is it possible that this may be causing something?
Nah. This just means that NVIDIA didn't get off their arses to register their new update/hardware with Windows. So Windows doesn't recognize it. As long as the drivers you have say "For XP" then yer fine.


Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 06:09 PM   #12 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 188

I've had this problem before - we found it to be bad RAM, suggest getting some diagnostics SW to see if u can find anything wrong with the computer's hardware!

If u download the 'Ultimate Boot CD', there are some diagnostics software there -

also, there's PC-Check by EuroSoft that might help out too.

Good Luck.

htcs is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:02 PM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725

Memtest86 is another pretty standard memory tester. It comes as a floppy image and can be found here
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 08:20 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 720

Ugh, be smart, just get a new hard drive, copy all of your important information. Next, zero out all the sectors and re-install. You can get a small hard drive for, 20 bucks? Well, once zeroed out, just re-install, and if you have the same problem, then it's your software (a bug in itself).
Good luck.
SkyHi is offline  
Old 04-15-2005, 09:58 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,100
Send a message via AIM to Blitze105 Send a message via Yahoo to Blitze105

i disagree sorry... if its bad software it prolly woulnd't keep happening.. or is it always this problem? and.. dont use windows cd to format. also.. to export.. usually u find it under file>export... hope that can help u

I'm Forgetful! so if i stop posting on something that i was helping you with... PM me or IM me
yahoo and aol: blitze105
you can always IM or PM me if i offend you as well, i will edit the post if i have.
Blitze105 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.