Windows XP Issue Help Needed ASAP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-30-2005, 07:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default Windows XP Issue Help Needed ASAP

So I'm fixing my friends family computer and it's really bad. Spyware up the ying yang and viruses all around. It is to the point to where it is un-repairable. So I decide I'm going to reformat and re-install windows xp. Theres only one problem though, they can't find their XP CD's.

If I bring my XP cd from home can I install it on their system? I know it will work but I'm assuming I am going to be missing a lot of drivers and such.

I have a custom built PC while they have a Compaq Presario 6000.

Also will I have to patch the activation?


I know a lot about computers. I'm just not familiar with using my xp CD on another system. Help would be appreciated ASAP as they are without a computer right now.
__________________

InnovativeFilms is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:12 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

You will need another Cd b/c of the key issue. The disk/OS is bound to that cd's key. Can't install it on 2 machines.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Ok, I am pretty sure I can patch it if I need to. But will the thing install correctly? If so will I be missing drivers?
InnovativeFilms is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

if his xp disc is the same (pro or home ) as the one used on the laptop then why couldn't you just get the key off the laptop and use it when reinstalling with your xp disc? you can view your installed keys from this handy program ... http://www.magicaljellybean.com/keyfinder.shtml
__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 09:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for the program. The only problem I think that is going to happen is when I have to activate the program it will say "duplicate key".
InnovativeFilms is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 09:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

yeah i think you will have to dodge the activation lol there are a number of "tools" to get around the activation just do a google search but be prepared for websites with a lot of advertising and crap they force upon you and your computer.. this is my storage site where i put files for ppl to get and ill put a xp file on ther for a little while if u want to check it out (no it isnt a virus but u can check it youself if you want.. i got it from lomalka.ru) here is my site look under stuff
__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 11:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default

Look on the computer's case. Many pre-built computers have the key on a sticker somewhere on the case.

Usually it is found on either side or the back. Possibly on the inside of the door.

My key is on the front of the case, inside the little slide-up door that covers the USB ports.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 11:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

yeah good point Trotter, my compaq has the key on top back part of the case... i have the same computer its definatly there.
__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 01:05 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 9
Default

The Key is on a sticker on the case, but I am still going to have to bypass the activation arn't I?
InnovativeFilms is offline  
Old 10-02-2005, 03:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

you can use another person xp cd to reinstall windows (i've done it a million times). you just have to use their key to activate it
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.