Windows XP Invalid Key - Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2006, 09:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default Windows XP Invalid Key - Help!

I recently built a computer from scratch. I bought all of the parts on NewEgg.com put it together and installed Windows XP using the disk from my old computer (one I am replacing) To install Windows I used the key from the old computer. I will not be using that computer anymore, hardrive will be wiped and given to a friend. When I attempt to activate windows it says the key is invalid. I don't want to buy Windows XP again when I have a legal version from my old computer. Is there anyway I can use the old key? The computer is a Compaq if that has anything to do with the problem.

Thank you!

-Nathan
__________________

rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 09:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

call microsoft and tell them your situation and they will help you
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Alright. I didn't know if there was something I could do on my end before calling them. Thanks for the reply.

-Nathan
rockeyman2 is offline  
Old 05-11-2006, 10:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Thumbs up

calling them will be the fastest way
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 04:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
snypercore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 738
Default

yeah if you call them and explain i think when you buy win XP your entitled to install on is it 2 CPU's something like that so theyl probably give you a new key

but if this falls through and you dont fancy buying a new copy PM me
__________________
snypercore is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 99
Default

Problem solved. Called Microsoft and they gave me another key that matched my new hardware configuration.

Thanks!
__________________

rockeyman2 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.