Windows XP Installation Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2004, 05:46 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to chitownguru Send a message via Yahoo to chitownguru
Default Windows XP Installation Upgrade

Hey all:

I'm having a weird problem with Windows XP installation upgrade. I'm upgrading from ME to XP and well I let the installation run and it ran till it said 25min left and after that it won't go no more its stuck on there. Is there any way to rollback that installation and just get it back to ME?? Everytime I try to start the computer without the CD it just restarts the installation. I Don't know what else I might be able to do so I come for help. Thanks I really appreciate it.

Guru
__________________

chitownguru is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 07:10 AM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 9
Default

Hi,

you could try getting hold of a win98 start up disk off the net and booting with that to a command prompt, then trying scanreg /restore.

hope it helps...
__________________

cr0wl3y is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to chitownguru Send a message via Yahoo to chitownguru
Default

I tried that and I can't get even scanreg to come up. I don't want to reformat the system, there are to many files on there is there anyone knows how to uninstall windows XP setup?? Thank you.
chitownguru is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 07:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to chitownguru Send a message via Yahoo to chitownguru
Default

Anyone know of anyway to fix this issue?? I haven't been able to do anything about it. I have tried getting a ME cd and booting from there but it wants to do a fresh install not a restore or recovery and if I use the Compaq recovery CD's then it will reformat the computer, and I don't want to do that please any help will be greatly appreciated.

Lemuel
chitownguru is offline  
Old 08-24-2004, 08:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
WOOOOOOOO
 
bobojuice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Miami
Posts: 818
Send a message via AIM to bobojuice Send a message via Yahoo to bobojuice
Default

I found you some links that might be able to help. Theyre HERE
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent
It would be bad if you had a divorse over something stupid like batteries.
LETS DANCE!!!
bobojuice is offline  
Old 08-25-2004, 12:40 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4
Send a message via AIM to chitownguru Send a message via Yahoo to chitownguru
Default

Thanks foe the link but no useful information, thanks though.

Lemuel
__________________

chitownguru is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.