Windows XP Install Not Recognizing Harddrives - HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-07-2005, 10:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 26
Default Windows XP Install Not Recognizing Harddrives - HELP!

Help me please!

I just build a computer (or rather, my friend built it for me), everything appears to be going smoothly except that when I'm trying to install Windows XP Pro (legit copy), it says I don't have any hard-drives installed. My motherboard is a ASUS A8N-SLI Premium mobo.

My main hard-drive is a Serial ATA 150 72gb Raptor 10k hard drive.

My secondary hard-drive is my old back up hard-drive (IDE ATA133 Maxtor 160gb, but only running at 126).

I don't have any clue why it's not recognizing my hard-drives. Someone I know said it may be because I don't have the drivers for the Serial ATA Raptor drive. My rig uses an ASUS A8N-SLI Premium mobo, Athlon X2 4800+, 7800GTX. I think thats all the important info.

If it is the driver thing can someone PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE provide a link or website with the required Serial ATA drivers for my ASUS A8N-SLI Premium mobo?


PhaleProof is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:34 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Osiris's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris

You need to partition it first. Go to and download windows 98 oem bootdisk and make a partition. You can install XP without a partition so it will give you that message.

Osiris is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
KSoD's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647

I know why already. How old is that copy of Win XP Pro? I can almost guarentee that it doesnt have support for your SATA drive and you need to use the 3rd party software via floppy to get the setup to recognize the hard drive.

So the next question is did your firend install a floppy drive? If not you need to slipstream the drivers into XP and then try to install.
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-07-2005, 10:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861

hit f6 upon booting the xp cd. install your floppy when it ask for it. with my asus mobo I had to make a floppy from my asus cd. look for a sata driver floppy maker on that cd
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.