windows xp install hang - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-30-2006, 12:25 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default windows xp install hang

hey, i didnt have enough cash to buy a copy of exp, so i decided to install an old copy of windows 98. this went well, its working pretty good and installed well. Now my dads windows xp has no activations but it leaves me with 30 days to activate, so i dedicided ill use that till i can buy windows. Now im trying to upgrade and it hangs. Insert the cd, it boots from cd, the setup loads all the drivers at the bottom and then goes "Setup is starting Windows" and just sits there its been there for 15 minutes before i shut it off, any suggestions on what it might be or i could do to make it not hang?
__________________

__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 01:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

try the cd in another system see if it is able to get past that point. and if it doesnt get a new cd.
__________________

__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 12:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 276
Default

nope, it worked in two other pcs, got past the part that it hangs on with my new one.
__________________
- Welsh
welsh is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,909
Send a message via AIM to jcortes
Default

sounds like a hardware problem first try another cddrive and then start taking out unneccessary pci cards and things like that some one had this same problem the other day when their graphics card stopped them from getting past swapping it out fixed the problem right away.
__________________

AIM = jcortestechhelp
jcortes is offline  
Old 08-30-2006, 06:08 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 34
Default

A friend of mine had the same problem and I fixed it by replacing the stick of ram he had in it worked first go after


hope thats some help
atopork is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.