Windows XP Install disc won't boot. - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2006, 08:14 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I have two drives in the problem system (DVD-ROM & DVD+-RW). Both will boot linux installers but not the two Windows installers i have. the Windows Installers I have will boot correctly on my HTPC (P4 1.7Ghz).
__________________

BigG is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 01:48 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Come on. Does no one else have any ideas on this?
__________________

BigG is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 03:25 PM   #13 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Well, Ive never set one up, Im just going by what Im reading and how windows loads and Im still thinking it has something to do with linux already being installed, but I could be wrong
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 03:41 PM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I've gotten that tip too. I will be wiping the drive with killdisk tonight and see what happens.
BigG is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:35 PM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Do you have a partition with just in just RAW format? Windows doesnt recognize the Linux File system and that could be where your problem lies. If you have the drives all set up for Linux and no RAW partitions available then you wont be able to load and install windows.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:39 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

But would that keep the install disc from booting?
BigG is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:43 PM   #17 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

It wouldnt keep the install disc from botting but it will prevent you from installing Windows.

If the disc isnt booting at all that just means it might not be a bootable disc. Can you run it from within Fedora? If so but it doesnt give you the option to "Press any key to boot from CD...." on start up with your CD ROM set to the first boot device then the disc is most likely not bootable.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:45 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

I am getting the "Press any key to boot from CD...." on any system I put the discs into. On any other system, after pressing any key, I will get the installer. On this system, I only get a black screen after the "Press any key to boot from CD...." prompt.
BigG is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 04:55 PM   #19 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default

Check the disc for scratches. Either that or your system just cant read the disc. It might be due to Fedora already installed or just that the DVD Drive isnt working on the bootable disc. Hard to tell. But as Warez said i believe that Windows has to be installed first. Something to do with the Linux Boot Loader that just messes with the Windows install. That could be your problem there.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 05-18-2006, 11:54 PM   #20 (permalink)
Chillin Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 11,861
Default

hold on don't delete the linux partition yet.


Copy your xp cd on the other partition in linux (which should be fat32 or ntfs). now boot with a bart pe disc (it might work in linux) and hit setup.

pick new install. put your key in. now hit advance options. pick " I will choose the partition during setup option" follow the rest of the instructions. window can even format those partition to ntfs in needed

I use a method similar to this 2 days ago, to install xp on a laptop that didn't have a cd rom drive.
__________________

__________________
The Ultimate Hard Drive Utility PowerMax 4.23. (It now has the ability to clean a Boot Sector virus on the quick erase option.)
The best browser Netscape 8
Have you accidently delete something? Look here (trial. the better one) and here(free)
EricB is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.