Windows XP Install disc won't boot. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-16-2006, 07:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default Windows XP Install disc won't boot.

OK, here it goes:

System Specs:
ECS Elite Group K8T890-A motherboard
AMD Athlon 64 3500+
ATI Radeon 256MB X1300 PCI-Express Video Card
1GB Corsair XMS Unbuferred Memory
DVD Rom, DVD+-RW, 40GB WD HDD, 250MB Iomega ZIP

When I boot off of either Windows XP Home (32-bit) or Windows XP Pro Corp (32-bit), I will get the "Press any key to boot from CD..." then a blank screen. The installer won't load. I have successfully run and installed:
Fedora Core 5 i386 CD
Fedora Core 5 x64 DVD
Knoppix 5.0 DVD

The Windows discs have been tested in several other systems and will boot fine. The only system they have a problem on is this one.
__________________

BigG is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.geocities.com/epark/linux...w2k-HOWTO.html

I think you need windows installed first then install linux
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

The problem that I'm having isn't in dual booting, it's in getting Windows to install in the first place. The installer does not start. I included that I had installed linux in the system to show that the system will take an install, just not Windows.
BigG is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

so is linux installed or was that just an example?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:54 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

Yes, the system is currently running on Fedora Core 5 x64. I don't care if I loose this install.
BigG is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 07:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Wel I think its because Linux is there first and not windows....sounds like it cant instal because linux has the bootloader...
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

That shouldn't matter should it? When Windows installs, it will overwrite the bootloader, right? The problem is though that while normally when you install windows you get a blue screen and the installer starts loading setup files, I don't get that. I get nothing. This should be before the Windows installer even looks at the hard drive.
BigG is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

http://www.redhat.com/docs/manuals/l...-dualboot.html


http://www.justlinux.com/forum/showt...hreadid=130715
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:08 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 16
Default

OK, those instructions assume that the WINDOWS INSTALL DISC BOOTS in the first place. My Windows CDs will not BOOT.

This is what I get:
1. Insert Windows XP Install Disc
2. Reboot computer
3. BIOS Loads CD
4. Prompt: "Press Any Key To Load from CD..."
5. Press Any Key
6. Black Screen

This is what should happen:
1. Insert Windows XP Install Disc
2. Reboot computer
3. BIOS Loads CD
4. Prompt: "Press Any Key To Load from CD..."
5. Press Any Key
6. Blue Screen with installer setup information, driver loading, and soforth.
BigG is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:12 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you try a different cd drive? Can you load xp within windows on a diff machine?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.