Windows Xp install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2004, 07:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default Windows Xp install

hey, thanks in advance.

i've got an ugly problem. i have a seagate hard drive (80gigs) it used to have win2000 on it. i ran my xp disk from win2k but it didnt install over win2k and created a dual boot. so i set my pc to boot from the cd-rom and used my winXP disk to clean out this dual boot and reformat the drive installing winXP. however, when XP go's to install, it loads all the stuff after it formats the drive then reboots. it says it will continue after the reboot however it doesn't it go's back to the windows set up and wants to start over. how can i get XP on my harddrive? i dont have a floppy.

thanks much,

Keith
__________________

neplusultra is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 416
Send a message via AIM to chog
Default

Try booting without the CD and then when if it asks you fot the CD put it back in.
__________________

chog is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

i tried that and the pc doesn't do anything, and when i set it boot normally and not from the cd-rom it keeps truning off and on. it shows the drive as ntfs at about 76gigs.
neplusultra is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 420
Send a message via AIM to silence782
Default

Is your computer set to boot from the cd? Is your CD boot compatible?
__________________
Still weak, I know, but getting better:
CPU: AMD AthlonXP 2500+
1.8GHz @ 333 FSB
512 DDR 2700
160 GB westerndigital hd
Dual booted with XP/Fedora Core 5
PCchips M848A mobo
nVIDIA GeForce MX 4000 video Card
Associate\'s Degree in Applied Computer Sciences.
A+ Certified for Hardware and Operating Systems. Network+ Certified
silence782 is offline  
Old 08-05-2004, 07:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3
Default

i think so, i mean its my XP disk. and yes my pc was configured to boot from the cd, that is when i went to install xp. when i put the settings back to normal in the bios it just shuts of and turns on over and over again
neplusultra is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 06:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

if u are using 2 cd(r) drives...try th other one
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 08-09-2004, 10:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 22
Send a message via AIM to bucemdown320
Default

i think u hav corrupted burnt copy of XP....use nero to burn next time
bucemdown320 is offline  
Old 08-10-2004, 04:16 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

During the reboot, the computer asks you to hit any key to boot from the CD..... DON'T. It will then boot up from the HDD and continue installation.
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 07:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
Default

I have this problem too - driving me nuts. I don't get the option 'press any key' - it just reboots and then searches for the boot info - it doesn't take it from the C: drive even though I know the files are there - it searches for the other boot devices - in this case, the CD drive.

When I remove the CD and wait, it just returns a 'boot disk failure, insert system disk' and won't reboot until I place the CD back in and we're back to the start......IT WON'T BOOT FROM THE C: DRIVE even though installation has placed the relevant files there.

1. The HD is identified correctly in the bios
2. It is on IDE 1 as master - no slave
3. The computer is fairly new and no hardware has been added/altered
4. A virus meant that I've had to reinstall XP once before - but there were no problems then!
5. Have tested the WD hard drive using their utility - all fine
6. I have tried unplugging CD/DVD drives to see if that would remedy the problem and force a boot from C: - no
7. The install sequence gets as far as partitioning/formatting/writing installation files to C:/reboot 'setup will continue when computer restarts' NO!!NADA, nothing.....I'm fed up.

Thanks
__________________

janeway is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.