windows xp/home/pro troubles..hd or cdrom? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2006, 08:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Exclamation windows xp/home/pro troubles..hd or cdrom?

ok last night my trial for windows finally expired(old cd i had lying around, procrastiated, finally bought windows xp pro. I deleted all the partitions on my hd, made a new partition, tried to make windows run. It gets to the point where i have to restart and it says it will continue setup. It restarts, then gets to the windows screen where has a checklist, and it's on "installing windows". thats were it freezes. the progress bar stops moving n stuff. I've tried it about 5 times, then tried my trial windows cd again. That fails now too. same thing. i took out my cd drive and cleaned the laser thingy, same thing. When im setting up windows, i choose the NTFS FILE SYSTEM (QUICK) cause its much faster. i tried the other this morning and same thing. whats wrong or what am i doing wrong?
__________________

__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

download the windows 98 oem bootdisk from www.bootdisk.com and fdisk it and then format it and then install xp
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

ya that sight is uber confusing, and he wants money. no thanks. any1 else know what's wrong?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

He dont want no money, here is the file


http://www.troyedwards.com/downloads...sks/boot98.exe
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:57 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

what about if im using windows xp or pro edition, thats not 98?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 08:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

trust me, download it put a floppy in the drive, execute the file, it will write to the floppy, reboot, make sure it boots from the floppy, use the fdisk command to delete the partition and then fdisk to format then try installing xp
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:01 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

what if i dont have a floppy, put it on a cd?
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

Use that then and burn it to a cd




Power Max
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 10:06 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 781
Default

ya it wont boot from the cd... is it my hd? last time i did it it worked fine
__________________
Intel Q6600 w/ CM Geminii
MSI P6N Deluxe SLI
BFG 8800GT w/ 22'' Acer LCD
OCZ 2x2GB
WD 400GB SATA
Razer Barracuda AC-1, Razer eXactmat
Logitech G15, MX Revolution, X-230
Zalman Fatal1ty FC-ZE1 case w/ Zalman ZM-MFC1 Fan controller
R1C0CH3T is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 10:16 PM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is it set to boot from it?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.