Windows XP Home installation Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-28-2006, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 261
Default Windows XP Home installation Question

ok i want to reload windows but dont want to lose my personal files like music,videos and documents i have no real way of back up right now so i have a question when i put in my xp cd i have 2 options one is upgrade and one is new installation..i did upgrade a few days ago and my pc has been running weird ever since thats why im looking for a more clean install...if i choose new installtion will it just delete my system files and programs or will it also delete all the stuff i want to keep please get back to me asap
__________________

iamloco724 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

New Windows installation will wipe the hard drive, delete everything, and install Windows fresh.
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:26 PM   #3 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

No No No... When you boot from disk (FIRST) select New Install.. Then select REPAIR.
__________________
brady is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 489
Default

Yep repair installation is the exact thing you need. You won't lose anything on the hdd. The only thing I had to reinstall is Windows media player 11. I clicked on the icon and it would take me to the setup of WMP10, so I just reinstalled 11.
__________________
Torvalds was contemptuous of Microsoft's claims and has asked Redmond to name the patent infringements so that their veracity can be challenged and workarounds found.
"Naming them would either make it clear that Linux is not infringing at all (which is quite possible, especially if the patents are bad), or would make it possible to avoid infringing by coding around whatever silly thing they claim,"

"So the whole 'We have a list and we're not telling you' should tell you something. Don't you think that if Microsoft actually had some really foolproof patent, they'd just tell us and go, 'nyaah, nyaah, nyaah!'?"

whole story here: http://www.vnunet.com/vnunet/news/21...-microsoft-put
kpmwrestler is offline  
Old 07-28-2006, 07:33 PM   #5 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

As long as you don't click the "FIRST" repair option you won't lose anything. After you click "New Installation" the system will auto check for previous installs... It will find your current install and prompt you with an option to "Repair".... That is the repair option you need to choose.

REMEMBER: If you do this incorrectly, you will lose EVERYTHING.
__________________
brady is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.