Windows XP Home installation problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-22-2003, 10:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default Windows XP Home installation problem

Hi everyone,

I've recently purchased Windows XP Home and have had some problems installing it.

Firstly, during the "Completing installation" phase I get a pop-up window entitled "COM+ Setup error" with a long message starting "Sub-component COM+ raised an exception while processing the OC_COMPLETE_INSTALLATION setup message..." and error code 0x80040206. I click OK (the only option) to dismiss this.

Secondly (perhaps more importantly), just as installation is about to complete (during the "Saving settings" phase) the machine crashes with a blue screen with a "STOP 0x0000008E" message and something about disabling cacheing and shadowing (whatever they are) in BIOS.

My hardware is a bit old but still should be capable enough:

AMD K6-2 450MHz processor
TI5VG+ motherboard
256 MB RAM (as 2x 128 MB DIMMs)
CD-RW
CD-ROM
40 GB Maxtor hard drive (new, 7200 rpm)
20 GB Quantum Fireball hard drive (old, 5400 rpm)
Voodoo 3 2000 AGP graphics
Sound Blaster Live Platinum 5.1 sound card plus Live Drive
Firewire PCI card
10/100 ethernet PCI card.

The same problems occurred consistently over three or four attempts at installation. Thinking that it was some sort of hardware issue, I stripped the PC down to bare essentials, removing everything but the processor, 128MB RAM, CD-RW, graphics, the 40GB hard drive and the ethernet card. XP then installed without a problem!

What I would like to know is, was the problem due to faulty RAM as the Microsoft knowledge base suggests? I have run DocMemory on all 256 MB of RAM and found no problems, so I'm not sure this was the issue. I wonder if the problem was due to power issues? As you can see from the list above, my humble machine (with a 230W power supply) was fully loaded with add-ons, and I wonder whether easing the load on the power supply did the trick.

Any ideas would be very gratefully received.

Thanks, Jon
__________________

jonblower is offline  
Old 09-22-2003, 11:29 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

sometimes it does not work with ecc memory. you will have to use non-ecc memory only and at least 128MB minimum. sometimes old cd-rom drives can not read the winxp cd properly so you can try using a newer cd-rom just to install winxp. and sometimes it plain doesn't work. this happens a lot more than you think with older machines, you get the same problem if you try to install win2000.
__________________

ekÆsine is offline  
Old 09-22-2003, 01:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
oly
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5
Default

Hi,

My old AMD K6-2 500MHz processor was designed for Windows Nt/98 becasue it is enscripted on the processor it self so installing Windows XP on a AMD K6-2 450MHz processor wouldn't be a good idea.

There is a minimum spec for Windows XP. Didnt you check ?

OLY
oly is offline  
Old 09-22-2003, 02:10 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for your replies guys,

To ekaesine - how can I check if I have ECC memory? The CD-ROM wasn't the problem because I installed successfully from it once I'd stripped the computer down; besides, it was a new component.

To oly - I did check the minimum specification and my machine falls well within it (I know Microsoft's minimum spec is likely to be a touch optimistic though). As I said in my post, it's now working fine, I just wanted to know if my original installation problems were due to a RAM problem or overloading my power supply. (BTW, what do you mean when you say that Windows 98/NT was "enscripted on the processor it self"? Do you just mean there was a sticker on the box?)

Jon
jonblower is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 05:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks MicroBell, that's very helpful. I put both sticks of RAM back in the machine (after installation had finished) and all appears well. Do you know if there are any issues with *running* WinXP with more than one stick of RAM? I'm considering getting a third 128MB stick, as well as a new (quiet!) power supply.

Thanks again, Jon
jonblower is offline  
Old 09-23-2003, 09:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by oly
Hi,

My old AMD K6-2 500MHz processor was designed for Windows Nt/98 becasue it is enscripted on the processor it self so installing Windows XP on a AMD K6-2 450MHz processor wouldn't be a good idea.

There is a minimum spec for Windows XP. Didnt you check ?

OLY
If the processor is x86 then it will run XP. No if's ands or butts. His issue was a memory issue.


And I suggest getting another stick if you plan on running XP stable with a cpu that old.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.