Windows XP home administrator account - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2003, 06:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default Windows XP home administrator account

Ok... here's my question to you guys... is there any method that you can use to get the administrator account to be available in regular mode... since this account can set file permissions? Any help would be great.

EDIT : Keep in mind, when trying to give advice, that i am runnin XP Home. So most tricks for pro WILL NOT work. I've tried those.
__________________

__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 06:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 351
Send a message via Yahoo to A_Zip1
Default

umm well what do u mean "regular mode" just like when u boot it up normal, if so it should already be thier when u installed ur OS it makes "THEE" admininstrator account
__________________

A_Zip1 is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 10:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

No, what i want is to have it on my "welcome screen." I've tried screwing around w/ the registry, and i had it for five seconds up... but in the normal boot mode, there is no way to get it enabled so i can have root privelages and all w/o a safe mode boot.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 10:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 500
Default

Mr D,
I would suggest that you go into the Administrative Tools ,, found, (if you have not customized your program lists) in the Control Panel,,

Open COMPUTER MANAGEMENT, and look in the left pane for USERS AND GROUPS,,

choose GROUPS, and then DBL CLik on the ADMINISTRATORS group located in the RIGHT pane window..

When this opens, you will see all the accounts on your PC that have ADMINISTRATIVE PRIVELEGES,, If your account is not there,,there are two things to do,, either hit ADD at this time and put your user account into the group,,,

or ,, exit this,, and go into the USERS folder,, open YOUR account and edit the profile so that you are in the ADMINISTRATORS group,,

In doing this,, You need not have the Admin account on your splashscreen,, because YOU are the administrator and have the power over the local machine and users to delegate permissions,,

this shouls fix you up..

cheers
__________________
Crash Abbott
MCSE, MCP+I, A+

\"You\'re the Disease, and I\'m the Cure!\"
CrashAbbott is offline  
Old 04-01-2003, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Right... that would normally work, 'xcept that isn't an option in XP home edition.
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 09:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

At the log in prompt, hit control + alt + delete twice. that will bring up a log on for the Admin account.
Seloce is offline  
Old 04-02-2003, 07:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default AH... Almost there

Solece, that got me to where i could try, but it gave something about "Logon to this account is restricted." N E Way to get around that?
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-03-2003, 03:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 338
Default

uhm.

blech, this is why I dislike XP. there are at least two ways to get to this option in the GUI.

okay, in the NON PRETTY version of XP you navigate to start > control panel > settings > users and groups (or something similar).

or

start > all programs > administrative tools (if this group is hidden, go to the properties of the task bar to enable it) > computer management. there is a local users and groups section in the pop up.

Now, I have no idea why access to the account would be restricted, but if it were something you can control while not logged on as the Admin (go figure), this would be it.
Seloce is offline  
Old 04-07-2003, 11:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 584
Default

Well, I've got it in my user accounts, but can't screw around w/ it... WTF?
__________________
A+ Core Hardware, Software Certified (May 13 2005)
the new beast...

AMD Athlon XP 3200+ Barton running at 2.16 Ghz.
GeForce MX 4000 (mainly takes the load off the main system)
Creative Labs Audigy 24-bit sound.
Some Case from tigerdirect
512 MB Ultra DDR RAM.
80GB Seagate HDD
LiteOn CD-RW / DVD ROM drive.
currently looking at a litescribe drive at staples, due to its ability to label the CD shortly after being burned.
mrdinkel is offline  
Old 04-18-2003, 09:40 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 73
Send a message via AIM to h4x0r
Default

Try TweakXP, download it, it has that option where it makes u see the admin account when u logon just like a normal user

That was a long time ago, so I THINK tweakxp can enable that.

Or its somewhere in the registry
__________________

h4x0r is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.