windows xp gives me press F1 to retry....HELP!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 10:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default windows xp gives me press F1 to retry....HELP!!

Hello, i have windows xp pro on a dell 8100. everthing has worked great for about 3 months. i recently started to get a error message on startup on xp that said " insuffcient memory to run windows 16 bit program". i dont know what it meant but i had to close it before i could use windows. then i did a disk cleanup last night and my computer locked up so hit the power reset button and NOW i have a real problem. when it rebooted it said "strike F1 to retry reboot, F2 for setup utility" . now nothing works. Iam not great with computers can do the basics, is this a problem i can fix?. i shope so all ,my pictures and music are on this machine. Any help is greatly appreciated
__________________

joeb is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

can you get into safe mode by pressing f8?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:46 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

no i cant, all i can do is hit F2 to go to setup or hit F1 to reboot, it does not reboot but beeps and repeats itself. to actually reboot i have to ctrl+alt+del
joeb is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:48 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

do you have your xp cd?
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:50 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

yes i do thought of doing recovery but dont know the proper steps
joeb is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 10:53 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

XP Repair install

Please read carefully and make sure you followed the warning links before initiating the Repair Install. You can print a text version for reference. repair.txt

Boot the computer using the XP CD. You may need to change the boot order in the system BIOS so the CD boots before the hard drive. Check your system documentation for steps to access the BIOS and change the boot order.
When you see the "Welcome To Setup" screen, you will see the options below
This portion of the Setup program prepares Microsoft
Windows XP to run on your computer:

To setup Windows XP now, press ENTER.

To repair a Windows XP installation using Recovery Console, press R.

To quit Setup without installing Windows XP, press F3.

Press Enter to start the Windows Setup. do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R", (you Do Not want to load Recovery Console). I repeat, do not choose "To repair a Windows XP installation using the Recovery Console, press R".
Accept the License Agreement and Windows will search for existing Windows installations.
Select the XP installation you want to repair from the list and press R to start the repair. If Repair is not one of the options, END setup. After the reboot read Warning#2!
Setup will copy the necessary files to the hard drive and reboot. Do not press any key to boot from CD when the message appears. Setup will continue as if it were doing a clean install, but your applications and settings will remain intact.
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:00 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

what do mean warning links?
joeb is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:02 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

just ignore those.......
__________________
Osiris is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 8
Default

ok i did the steps as outlined and it said disk could not be found, i then pressed the up and down keys and it took me to a blue screen saying " a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to my computer etc..."
joeb is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Osiris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 36,817
Send a message via ICQ to Osiris Send a message via AIM to Osiris Send a message via MSN to Osiris Send a message via Yahoo to Osiris
Default

is it set to boot from cd?
__________________

__________________
Osiris is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.