Windows XP Freeze!!! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Software > Microsoft Windows and Software
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-01-2005, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default Windows XP Freeze!!!

Hi pls help me.

I built my pc a few months ago and it has been working brilliantly until a few days ago the computer froze so i reset the pc, ever since i have only got past the xp load up screen with the blue scrolling bar twice and then the mouse+keyboard froze. To try and fix this i swapped my ram with my brothers (he told me too) and unfortunately this didn't work. I then tried another hard drive which i reformatted and installed xp on it still froze on the load up screen, so then i tried reformating my hard drive and re-installing xp which wasnt very successful i wasn't able to re-install xp completely, so now im screwed pls help me, any suggestions will be truely appreciated. Thx.
__________________

Model Mania is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

use the XP recovery CD.
__________________

__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default Re: Windows XP Freeze!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Model Mania
Hi pls help me.

I built my pc a few months ago and it has been working brilliantly until a few days ago the computer froze so i reset the pc, ever since i have only got past the xp load up screen with the blue scrolling bar twice and then the mouse+keyboard froze. To try and fix this i swapped my ram with my brothers (he told me too) and unfortunately this didn't work. I then tried another hard drive which i reformatted and installed xp on it still froze on the load up screen, so then i tried reformating my hard drive and re-installing xp which wasnt very successful i wasn't able to re-install xp completely, so now im screwed pls help me, any suggestions will be truely appreciated. Thx.
I would make sure all the IDE cable are right and secure, can you get your self into safe mode?
TechNutopia is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

i have the option to press r and recover again i have tried this and it doesnt work i dont have any other disc except for the install disc
Model Mania is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,339
Default

re install XP?
__________________
<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"> <input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value=\"Search TF before you post!\"></form>
Vista Discussion | 64 Bit Discussion |Microsoft Homepage | Yo Linux | Paul Thurrott | Fire Fox | Thunder Bird | Image Shack | Photo Bucket | Put File | Anti-Spyware | MS Anti-Spyware | Trillian | Anti-Virus | On Line Virus Scan
Tyler1989 is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

it freezes ion safe mode and safe mode with networking and the other safe mode option and the ide cables are tight!
Model Mania is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 06:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

I then tried another hard drive which i reformatted and installed xp on it still froze on the load up screen, so then i tried reformating my hard drive and re-installing xp which wasnt very successful i wasn't able to re-install xp completely, so now im screwed pls help

this happens
Model Mania is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

BTW ur fast replies are very impressive thx!!
Model Mania is offline  
Old 08-01-2005, 07:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Model Mania
I then tried another hard drive which i reformatted and installed xp on it still froze on the load up screen, so then i tried reformating my hard drive and re-installing xp which wasnt very successful i wasn't able to re-install xp completely, so now im screwed pls help

this happens
Reset the mother board. Unplug the computer but while inside unplug the power suppy to the mother board and wait like 30 secs or more and then plug it back in and then try.

Two

Check the outlet to make sure your getting full power, this you can try by taking it to another outlet in the home and trying it.

All I know, I would be pulling my hair out about now and I need the hair I have as it is
TechNutopia is offline  
Old 08-02-2005, 06:31 AM   #10 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 7
Default

thx for the tips guys but its still not working could my Mother board be broke?
__________________

Model Mania is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.